Jason Byrne rediscovered his goal touch with a second half winner to give Bohemians a 2-1 victory over Drogheda as both sides finished with ten men at Dalyount Park.

Karl Moore brought the game to life in the best possible fashion with a superbly-taken lead goal for the home side on 14 minutes.

Dinny Corcoran’s through ball caught out the flat Drogheda rearguard and winger Moore ran on to hit a crisp left foot shot past Michéal Schlingermann from just inside the area for a fine first goal of the season.

Drogheda responded to enjoy a good spell, though Gavan Holohan and Gary O’Neill failed to trouble Dean Delany in the Bohemians goal.

The woodwork would then twice deny Bohemians from doubling their lead before the interval.

Skipper Dave Mulcahy picked out Corcoran in the box and he swivelling adroitly only to see his volley come back off the crossbar on 27 minutes.

Ten minutes later, Corcoran was unlucky again when his header from Moore’s corner also came back off Schlingermann’s bar.

A remarkable miss by Jason Byrne, when he headed straight at Schlingermann from just yards out, a minute into the second half saw the Drogheda goal continue to live a charmed life.

The visitors then got on top for a period with Gavin Brennan scoring their equaliser on 63 minutes when hooking home on the volley after a Delany punch from Gavan Holohan’s corner.

The tenacity of Moore, though, brought Bohemians’ winner four minutes later. 

Winning the ball off Alan McNally, Moore crossed invitingly for Byrne to arrive and blast a shot to the net for his sixth goal of the league season.

Bohemians Steven Beattie and Brennan of Drogheda were then sent off on 75 minutes following an off the ball incident spotted by fourth official Adriano Reale.

Bohemians: Dean Delany; Steven Beattie, Dan Byrne, Aidan Price, Derek Pender; Kevin Devaney (Keith Buckley 90+1), Roberto Lopes, Dave Mulcahy, Karl Moore; Dinny Corcoran (Adam Evans 85), Jason Byrne (Ryan McEvoy 78).

Drogheda United: Micheal Schlingermann; Daire Doyle, Alan McNally, Ciaran McGuigan, Shane Grimes; Peter McGlynn; Cathal Brady (Declan O'Brien 72), Gavan Holohan, Gavin Brennan, Carl Walshe (Gareth Brady 85); Gary O’Neill.
Referee: Anthony Buttimer (Cork).