Derry City left Thomond Park with all three Airtricity League Premier Division points as a David McDaid goal earned them a 1-0 win over Limerick.

McDaid's strike, just 20 minutes from time, sealed the win for the Candystripes as they secured an overdue league victory at the expense of a resilient home side. 

The goal spared Michael Rafter's blushes after the Tipperary native missed a penalty just five minutes before the break. 

The first contentious moment arrived just eight minutes in. 

Good interplay between Shaun Kelly and Galbraith forced Barry McNamee to foul the former inside the box.

However, referee Paul McLaughlin wasn't interested.

The impressive Michael Duffy had City's first real chance of the game when a good advantage decision allowed the midfielder to break through – his shot couldn't find the target though, and trickled wide.

Ruairdhi Higgins was denied a spectacular goal just past the half hour mark when Paddy Kavanagh turned Shane Tracy and crossed.

Higgins tried an overhead kick, but Robbie Williams was on hand to block.

The visitors were handed a golden opportunity on 39 minutes when Simon Madden was hauled down by David O'Leary inside the box.

Michael Rafter stepped up to take the spot kick, but was denied by a smart save by veteran stopper Barry Ryan.

Limerick started brighter in the second half and their best chance fell to Joe Gamble.

A terrific Danny Galbraith cross found the acrobatic Curran.

The Liverpudlian's effort was clawed towards the back post by Doherty, but Gamble somehow managed to miss from a couple of yards out.

The decisive moment arrived just 20 minutes from full time when a long punt upfield caught Limerick by surprise.

A well-aimed flick from Michael Duffy set McDaid free. He ran straight towards goal and finished well past Ryan.

Limerick will feel hard done by, but their lack of clear-cut chances in the last 20 minutes came back to haunt them.

Limerick FC: Barry Ryan; Shaun Kelly, Brian O'Callaghan, Robbie Williams, Shane Tracy; Joe Gamble (Val Feeney, 85), David O'Leary (Barry Sheedy, 79), Stephen Bradley; Axel Bossekota (Patrick Nzuzi, 87), Craig Curran, Danny Galbraith.

Subs not Used: Shane Cusack, Shane Costelloe, Darragh Rainsford, Rory Gaffney.

Derry City: Gerard Doherty; Simon Madden, Kevin Deery, Ryan McBride, Eoghan Osborne; Paddy Kavanagh (Rory Patterson, 72), Ruaidhri Higgins, Patrick McEleney, Barry McNamee (Sean Houston 64); Michael Duffy; Michael Rafter (David McDaid, 52).

Subs not Used: Eugene Ferry, Ryan Curran, Stewart Greacen.