Derry City midfielder Barry McNamee has been called into the Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad to face Denmark in an international friendly in Fredericia Stadium, Denmark on Friday 31 May.

Donegal-born McNamee, who has just been named Airtricity League player of the month for April, was named in manager Noel King’s 16-man squad for the game that will form part of Ireland’s final preparations before the start of their UEFA EURO 2015 qualifying campaign in August.

McNamee is the only uncapped and home-based player in the squad, however, five Airtricity League players have also been invited to train with the squad in Dublin.

Danny Morrisey and Daryl Horgan from Cork City, Bohemians centre-half Roberto Lopes, Limerick’s David O’Leary and Ciaran Gallagher from Finn Harps are the League of Ireland players named in the training squad, along with Selcuk Tidim from Germany and some may be included in the squad to travel to Denmark

King said: “This is our last preparation game before our first EURO 2015 Qualifier against the Faroe Islands in August, so it’s obviously our final chance to see players before then.

“Some players are missing through injury, suspensions etc, but this could be the case in August also, so we’ll prepare with that in mind.

“Denmark are terrific opposition for us for this game. They are a strong side, but we’d prefer to face a powerful team in order to prepare for the important qualifiers we have in August.”

Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad to face Denmark, Fredericia Stadium, Denmark, 31 May:

Aaron McCarey (Wolves), Sean McDermott (Sandnes Ulf), Shane Duffy (Everton), Anthony O'Connor (Blackburn Rvs), Matt Doherty (Wolves), Joe Shaughnessy (Aberdeen), Derrick Williams (Aston Villa), Sean McGinty (Unattached), Carl McHugh (Bradford City), Samir Carruthers (Aston Villa), John O'Sullivan (Blackburn Rvrs), Frankie Sutherland (QPR), Barry McNamee (Derry City), Sean Murray (Watford), Anthony Forde (Wolves), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall).

Training squad also includes: Daryl Horgan (Cork City), Roberto Lopes (Bohemians), David O’Leary (Limerick), Ciaran Gallagher (Finn Harps), Danny Morrissey (Cork City), Selcuk Tidim (FC Hansa Rostock).