The Irish side competing in the 2013 FIFPro Tournament in Vallhall Arena, Oslo have finished in third place.

The team, made up of out of contract League of Ireland players looking to secure new deals for 2013, were beaten in their first match against Norway, losing 6-5 on penalties after a 1-1 draw in 90 minutes.

Pat Scully’s team conceded a first minute goal but following sustained pressure, Stephen Maher equalised from the penalty spot after being tripped three minutes before full-time.

Peter Higgins saw his spot-kick saved in sudden-death and meant the Irish team would play Finland in the third/fourth place play-off.

Shane Tracy gave the Irish side a good start as he netted from the spot in the sixth minute and Barry O’Mahony sealed a 2-0 win when he connected with Dean Marshall’s free-kick in the second-half.

Speaking prior to the tournament this morning, former St Patrick’s Athletic and Bohemians defender Mark Rossiter said the one-day event gives players a chance to gain fitness and impress potential employers.

Rossiter told RTE Radio 1: "I suppose you look at it that it is on the up at this stage because players who performed well all had their deals done in November time.

"Unfortunately for me, I was injured so this tournament is a great thing for me that I can use it for six weeks to get fit. I only got fit at the end of the season so for me to get games is good and I can prove to managers that my knee is okay.

"I just think it is a great facility for players to come over and train for six weeks.

"Managers came to watch us play against Malahide United and Glebe North before we went in two friendlies.

"I think it is a great facility that is available to the players."

Sweden won the tournament after beating Norway on penalties in the final.

Ireland team that played Norway: Craig Hyland, Niall O'Reilly, Shane Tracy, Liam Burns, Mark Rossiter, David O'Leary, Danny Joyce, Craig Walsh, Stephen O'Flynn, Tadhg Purcell, Mark Leech

Subs: Stephen Maher for Joyce; Dean Marshall for O Flynn; Peter McMahon for Purcell; Barry O'Mahoney for O'Leary; Peter Higgins for Walsh

Ireland team that played Finland: Charlie Treacy, Niall O'Reilly, Shane Tracy, Liam Burns, Mark Rossiter, Peter McMahon, Stephen Maher, Peter Higgins, Dean Marshall, Barry O'Mahony, Mark Leech.

Subs: Stephen O'Flynn for Leech; Craig Walsh for O'Reilly; David O'Leary for O'Mahony; Niall O'Reilly for Tracy; Danny Joyce for Marshall; Mark Leech for O'Flynn