Shelbourne striker Jason Byrne has been voted Player of the Year by his fellow eircom League professionals. Byrne's 22 goals drove the Drumcondra club to their third Premier Division title in five years following his summer transfer from Bray Wanderers.

Byrne was presented with his PFAI award at a ceremony in Dublin last night after beating the likes of Cork City pair John O'Flynn and George O'Callaghan, Longford's Alan Kirby and Bohemians duo Kevin Hunt and Colin Hawkins to the prestigious prize.

Alan Murphy crowned a prolific season with Galway United by claiming the First Division Player of the Year award, an award he will not be able to retain after clinching a close-season move to Premier Division Derry City.

Bray Wanderers striker Eamon Zayed beat off stiff competition from Longford Town's Shane Barrett and St Patrick's Athletic's Keith Fahey to claim the honours in the Young Player of the Year category.

PFAI Player of the Year
Jason Byrne (Shelbourne)

PFAI First Division Player of the Year
Alan Murphy (Galway United/now Derry City)

PFAI Young Player of the Year
Eamon Zayed (Bray Wanderers) 

Filed by Shane Murray