Northern Ireland boss Michael O'Neill has named Liverpool defender Ryan McLoughlin in his experimental squad for the forthcoming friendlies against Uruguay and Chile, with five uncapped players being included.

McLaughlin had previously said he did not want to be considered for international selection as he was concentrating on his club career.

The Liverpool youngster has been on loan at Barnsley this season and featured for the Anfield side in Dublin last week for their clash with Shamrock Rovers.

Alongside McLoughlin, goalkeeper Trevor Carson, defensive pair Luke McCullough and Liam Donnelly and midfielder Paul Paton are those yet to make a senior international appearance featuring in a 22-man party for the trip to South America.

O'Neill's men face Uruguay in Montevideo on 30 May 30 before taking on Chile in Valparaiso on 4 June.

While still not in possession of a full cap, Portsmouth's former Sunderland stopper Carson has been in the senior squad before and has represented Northern Ireland B.

Donnelly, 18 and part of the youth set-up at Fulham that has been gaining considerable attention of late, has not made a first-team appearance in English football, while 20-year-old ex-Manchester United academy member McCullough has been playing for Doncaster over the past season.

Dundee United's Paton was called into the last squad - for the 0-0 friendly draw in Cyprus in March - as a replacement for Sammy Clingan.

There are several more experienced campaigners who are back involved having missed the Cyprus game in QPR's Aaron Hughes, fellow defender Chris Baird - now at Burnley - and Blackburn midfielder Corry Evans. Another midfielder, New York Red Bulls' Jonny Steele, has also been recalled, and Kilmarnock's Clingan is included again.

But O'Neill is without West Brom duo Gareth McAuley and Chris Brunt, Palermo's Kyle Lafferty and Hull's Alex Bruce, who came off with an injury in Saturday's FA Cup final defeat to Arsenal.

Northern Ireland squad to play Uruguay and Chile: R Carroll (Olympiacos), M McGovern (Falkirk), T Carson (Portsmouth), D Lafferty (Burnley), R McLaughlin (Liverpool), A Hughes (QPR), L McCullough (Doncaster), L Donnelly (Fulham), C Baird (Burnley), S Davis (Southampton), O Norwood (Huddersfield), S Ferguson (Newcastle), C Evans (Blackburn), S Clingan (Kilmarnock), J Steele (New York Red Bulls), P Paton (Dundee United), N McGinn (Aberdeen), B McKay (Inverness), M Paterson (Huddersfield), J Ward (Derby), D Shiels (Rangers), J Magennis (Aberdeen).