Derry City have all but booked their place in the second qualifying round of the Europa League following their convincing 4-0 win over ten-man Aberystwyth Town.

Peter Hutton's side were always in control of their first leg encounter at the Brandywell.

Goals from Patrick McEleney, Rory Patterson, Mark Timlin and Barry McNamee secured the victory over the Welsh side.

City deservedly broke the deadlock on 15 minutes thanks to a super run and finish by McEleney.

The talented midfielder skipped past a few challenges to burst into the Town box, before his curling left-footed strike somehow caught out goalkeeper Mike Lewis.

Lewis's night got even worse on 24 minutes when he was dismissed by referee Mads Kristoffer Kristoffersen after he brought down Patterson inside the box.

His replacement Philip Draper was unable to keep out Patterson's resulting penalty.

McEleney was running the show and he went close on two occasions just before the break, but his two long-range efforts flashed just over.

Derry added a third on 47 minutes when youngster Timlin scored his first goal for the club in impressive fashion.

Duffy fed the ball into the left winger, who turned superbly to get away from his marker, and his left-footed effort from 25 yards had enough to get past Draper.

Patterson should have added his second of the game on 69 minutes when from close range his side-footed effort was saved by Draper, after McEleney broke the offside trap and created the clear-cut chance.

Patterson had another two openings, but on both occasions the striker failed to score, with some bad control and the woodwork denying him.

In the closing stages, McNamee added City's fourth goal, showing composure to calmly side-foot home from close range.

Derry City: Doherty, Jarvis, Byrne, McBride, Barry; B McNamee, Molloy, P McEleney (Lowry 76); Duffy, Patterson (Boyle 82), Timlin (Tracey 69).

Aberystwyth Town: Lewis, Thomas, James, Chr Davies (Morgan 65), Cle Davis, Venables, Sherbon, Jones, Williams (Draper 25), Corbisiero, Kellaway.

Referee: Mr Mads-Kristoffer Kristoffersen (Denmark).