Niamh Briggs will once again captain Ireland as Tom Tierney's side open the defence of their Six Nations campaign against Wales in Donnybrook on 6 February.

The defending champions have moved their home venue to the Dublin 4 stadium, where they will also face Scotland and Italy during this year’s campaign, while the away clash with England will be the second part of a double-header taking place after the men's international at Twickenham.

The squad for this year’s competition was named today and there will be several players who will be looking to win their first Ireland cap during the championship.

Tralee and Munster players Zoe Grattage and Ciara Griffin are joined by Tralee team-mate Ciara O'Connor, who plays provincially with Connacht and St Mary's and Connacht flanker Grainne Egan as the uncapped players in the pack.

In the backs, UL Bohs and Munster wing Liz Burke and centres Elise O'Byrne-White (Old Belvedere and Leinster) and Claire McLaughlin (Queen's University and Ulster) are also uncapped.

Speaking on the selection, Ireland coach, Tom Tierney said: "We have named a squad full of talent for this year's championship. There is a nice blend of youth and experience and the vibe in the camp has been very positive over the last few weeks.

“We've had the opportunity to see a lot of the girls play and we've looked at a number of combinations. The newer members of the squad are doing really well, so we're looking forward to getting the campaign underway against Wales in Donnybrook and seeing what the girls can do”.

Ireland Women's Six Nations 2016 Squad

Forwards: Elaine Anthony (Munster / Highfield), Ciara Cooney (Leinster / Railway Union), Ailis Egan (Leinster/ Old Belvedere), Grainne Egan (Connacht / St.Mary's), Paula Fitzpatrick (Leinster / Stade Toulousain), Orla Fitzsimons (Leinster / St.Mary's), Zoe Grattage (Munster / Tralee), Ciara Griffin (Munster / Tralee), Claire Molloy (Bristol), Cliodhna Moloney (Leinster / Railway Union), Heather O'Brien (Munster / Stade Toulousain), Fiona O'Brien (Leinster/ Old Belvedere), Ciara O'Connor (Connacht / Tralee), Ruth O'Reilly (Connacht / Galwegians), Lindsay Peat (Leinster / Railway Union), Fiona Reidy (Munster / UL Bohemians), Marie-Louise Reilly (Leinster / Old Belvedere), Sophie Spence (Leinster/ Old Belvedere).

Backs: Niamh Briggs (Munster / U.L Bohemians), Liz Burke (Munster / U.L Bohemians), Nikki Caughey (Ulster / Railway Union), Mairead Coyne (Connacht / Galwegians), Aine Donnelly (Leinster/ Cill Dara), Mary Healy (Connacht / Galwegians), Claire McLaughlin (Ulster / Queen's University), Larissa Muldoon (Skewen), Sene Naoupu (Connacht / Galwegians), Elise O'Byrne-White (Leinster/ Old Belvedere), Jackie Shiels (Richmond), Nora Stapleton (Leinster / Old Belvedere)

Six Nations Ireland Women's Fixtures:

Sat 6 Feb 13:00 Ireland v Wales Donnybrook Stadium

Sat 13 Feb 21:00 (Irish time) France v Ireland Stade Aimé Giral, Perpignan

Sat 27 Feb 19:15 England v Ireland Twickenham

Sun 13 Mar 13:00 Ireland v Italy Donnybrook Stadium

Sun 20 Mar 13:00 Ireland v Scotland Donnybrook Stadium