/ Six Nations 2016

France name team to play Scotland in Stade de France

Updated: Thursday, 14 Mar 2013 10:09 | Comments

Frederic Michalak has been off-form so far during this championship
Frederic Michalak has been off-form so far during this championship

France manager Philippe Saint-Andre stuck to the much-criticised Frederic Michalak to spearhead Les Bleus against Scotland as they look to avoid the Six Nations wooden spoon on Saturday.

The once-brilliant Michalak has had poor games in this year's championship and his first half in last weekend's 13-13 draw against Ireland was definitely not one of his best, with his kicking game being more than questionable.

Michalak was key to France's wins against Samoa, Australia and Argentine last November but since then his form has nosedived.

Michalak will play alongside scrumhalf Morgan Parra with the Toulon player in charge of kicking penalties unless game circumstances dictate otherwise.

Parra's main role will be to lead the pack in gruelling weather conditions as torrential rain has been forecast in Paris on Saturday night.

Saint-Andre made two changes among the forwards with South African-born Antonie Claassen coming on for Yannick Nyanga as blindside flanker and Sebastien Vahaamahina replacing Christophe Samson at lock.

Mathieu Bastareaud will also bring power at outside centre as Florian Fritz, who picked up a foot infection, is not even certain to sit on the bench. Gael Fickou is the reserve player.

France have one point and will finish last if they lose against Scotland who have not win against Les Bleus since 2006 and since 1999 in an away game.

France team to play Scotland at the Stade de France in the RBS 6 Nations championship on Saturday at 8pm:

15 Yoann Huget, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Mathieu Bastareaud, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Maxime Medard, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 6 Antonie Claassen, 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Benjamin Kayser, 1 Thomas Domingo

Replacements: 16 Guilhem Guirado, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Luc Ducalcon, 19 Christophe Samson, 20 Yannick Nyanga, 21 Maxime Machenaud, 22 Francois Trinh-Duc, 23 Florian Fritz or Gael Fickou.

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use