/ Six Nations 2016

<p>Wales 15-17 Ireland - Matchtracker</p>

Updated: Saturday, 21 Mar 2009 19:36

Ireland have won the Grand Slam thanks to a last-gasp Rona O'Gara drop goal
Ireland have won the Grand Slam thanks to a last-gasp Rona O'Gara drop goal

7.25pm - FULL TIME - Wales 15-17 Ireland

7.25pm - Jones' penalty drops under the posts and Murphy takes the ball to finish the game off as Ireland take the historic victory. Celebrations on and off the pitch as the Irish enjoy the win...

7.24pm - Ireland give away a penalty on the half-way. Surely Jones will go for the posts... This will be the last kick of the game. Deep breath, Guys...

7.22pm - Drop goal Ireland - Irish pressure sets up ROG to hit a brilliant drop goal under huge pressure from Wales. Cheers all round even from the 'impartial' commentators...

7.18pm - Drop goal Wales - Wales push on and Jones takes a beauty of a drop goal.

7.16pm - Ireland absorb great Wales pressure - Horan wins possession for Ireland to relieve pressure. Kick doesn't go out and Wales attack again.

7.15pm - The ref must be a Portsmouth fan - he keeps saying Crouch... Ok I'll get my coat.

7.14pm - Mistake for Ireland gives away possession. Murphy, only on a few minutes, drops a pass and it bounces forward. Scrum to Wales.

7.11pm - Subs on - Best & Stringer for the usual suspects.

7.09pm - Henson attempts a monster penalty from inside his own half out on the touchline. Drops five metres short.

7.06pm - Wales hold on after good play. Penalty Ireland. Great ROG kick into Wales 22.

7.04pm - Great Irish pressure eventually stopped by Wales as Ireland give away a penalty for holding on.

7.00pm - Bowe gets onto another kick over the top and then tries to chip over Henson. Good defending by Mr Church and wins a penalty as Bowe pushes him.

6.59pm - Ireland fight back and turn the ball over on the halfway line. More great play by O'Connell.

6.55pm - Penalty Wales - Jones keeps Wales in the hunt with another well-taken kick.

6.54pm - Ireland starting to get sloppy - giving another penalty away for taking the support man out. Dangerous play.

6.50pm - Penalty Wales - Indiscipline in the line-out - Jones kicks a brilliant penalty to close gap to five points.

6.44pm - TRY Ireland - ROG takes possession, kciks over the top for Bowe to collect and steam in from 40 yards. ROG converts to open the gap to eight points. That's the Championship more or less wrapped up - now for the Grand Slam...

6.42pm - TRY Ireland - BOD gets the ball down for a split second and the ref has no choice but to award the try. ROG kicks an easy conversion.

6.39pm - O'Connell claims the ball and Irish pressure under the posts. Ref going upstairs for a look...

6.37pm - We're back - second half starts with a bang as Tommy Bowe breaks through. Followed by a great cross field kick, which Wales carry into touch. Irish line-out from five yards out.

6.22pm - HALF TIME Ireland trailing by six but plenty to play for in the second half.

6.19pm - Penalty Wales - Jones makes no mistake from just inside the Ireland half.

6.18pm - ROG breaks with ball after another bad Wales line-out. Penalised for crossing by Fitzgerald.

6.14pm - Penalty Wales. Jones kicks Wales into the lead after Ireland conceded a soft penalty.

6.11pm - Good play by Ireland after a neat kick over the Wales defence. Wales hold firm and clear.

6.08pm - Ireland win another Wales line-out ball but Wales do well to get ball back. John Hayes returns after getting cleaned up after taking a Paul O'Connell stray boot to the head in a line-out.

6.06pm - Great work by Wallace to stop a Wales attack. Ireland clear after good back play by Wales.

6.01pm - O'Connell snatches the ball from the Wales line-out. Magic stuff. ROG kicks away possession as the stalemate continues at the Millennium after 25 minutes.

5.59pm - Back in the studio - George Hook happy with Irish start - Ireland advantage in the throw in, Wales in the scrum. Messrs Ward and Nugent concur with the Hookmeister.

5.58pm - O'Leary attempts another kick to the corner but over-cooks it for a Wales throw in from the half-way line.

5.55pm - Ref has to have a word about the players' behaviour. Not happy with lots of off-the-ball malice behind his back. Come on guys, clean game...

5.54pm - Try....disallowed after Ireland work ball across the pitch. BOD's pass goes forward to Fitzgerald who goes over.

5.51pm - O'Leary gets ball and clips a cracking ball right up to the five-metre line for a Wales throw in. Williams put on the deck behind the try line. Ireland get put in.

5.50pm - First rendition of 'the Fields'... the guys are in full voice. Probably full all round.

5.49pm - Forward pass stops Wales getting into a very promising position. Probably a bad call by the ref, luckily for Ireland.

5.47pm - Good Wales play moves possession up to the Ireland 22. Ireland halt the advance and clear.

5.42pm - Ireland put more pressure and win a scrum in an attacking position on the 22. Wales defend well and clear to the halfway line.

5.40pm - O'Gara kicks across the posts and drifts wide.

5.38pm - Wales kick off and already tension is high as O'Callaghan and Wales' number 8 Jones come to blow following a late tackle on Ronan O'Gara. Penalty to the boys in green.

5.30pm - Here we go. The big game is about to kick off at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. Can Ireland win the Grand Slam for the first time since 1948? George Hook thinks so - 'I have never been more confident...and the reason is the coach, the coach, the coach' says Mr Hook on the RTE TV panel.


Wales: Lee Byrne (Ospreys); Mark Jones (Scarlets), Tom Shanklin (Cardiff Blues), Gavin Henson (Ospreys), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Mike Phillips (Ospreys); Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Ian Gough (Ospreys), Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Ryan Jones (Ospreys, capt), Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues), Andy Powell (Cardiff Blues).

Replacements: Huw Bennett (Ospreys), John Yapp (Cardiff Blues), Luke Charteris (Newport Gwent Dragons), Dafydd Jones (Scarlets), Warren Fury (London Irish), James Hook (Ospreys), Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues).

Ireland: Rob Kearney (Leinster); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster, capt), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster); Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Tomas O'Leary (Munster); Marcus Horan (Munster), Jerry Flannery (Munster), John Hayes (Munster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster), Paul O'Connell (Munster, capt), Stephen Ferris (Ulster), David Wallace (Munster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster).

Replacements: Rory Best (Ulster), Tom Court (Ulster), M O'Driscoll (Munster), Denis Leamy (Munster), Peter Stringer (Munster), Paddy Wallace (Ulster), Geordan Murphy (Leicester).

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England).
Touch judges: David Pearson (England), Stuart Terheege (England)
Television match official: Romain Poite (France)