Brian O'Driscoll will line out for Leinster as head coach Matt O’Connor makes five changes to the side that lost at Ospreys for Friday’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash with Treviso at the RDS, kick-off 17.00.

Two changes come in the backs with O'Driscoll returning at 13 in place of Gordon D'Arcy and Darragh Fanning starting on the left wing in place of Dave Kearney.

Noel Reid, who scored a try against Treviso in November, retains his place at inside centre, while Rob Kearney continues at full back and Zane Kirchner plays on the right wing.

Jimmy Gopperth and Isaac Boss continue as the half back pairing.

Jamie Heaslip captains the side from number eight and the pack sees no changes in the front row with Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Martin Moore starting once again.

There is one alteration in the second row with Mike McCarthy starting in place of Leo Cullen and a further two changes in the back row with Rhys Ruddock and Jordi Murphy starting in place of the injured Kevin McLaughlin and Shane Jennings.

Leinster: R Kearney; Z Kirchner, B O'Driscoll, N Reid, D Fanning; J Gopperth, I Boss; C Healy, S Cronin, M Moore, D Toner, M McCarthy, R Ruddock, J Murphy, J Heaslip (captain). 

Replacements: R Strauss, J McGrath, M Bent, T Denton, D Ryan, L McGrath, I Madigan, B Macken.

Ulster have made three changes and three positional switches to the side that eased past Connacht last weekend at Ravenhill for Friday night’s visit to Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium, kick-off 19:35. 

Head coach Mark Anscombe switches Andrew Trimble to the left wing, while Darren Cave returns in the centre following a week’s rest and Tommy Bowe is named on the right. Ricky Andrew retains his position at fullback, with Jared Payne still suspended. Paul Marshall continues at scrumhalf alongside Paddy Jackson. 

Up front, Tom Court makes his return to the front row with Rob Herring named at hooker and Ricky Lutton selected at tighthead. The second row is unchanged with captain, Johann Muller, starting alongside Iain Henderson.

In the back row Chris Henry moves to blindside replacing the injured Robbie Diack, Nick Williams is selected at number eight and Sean Doyle comes in at openside. 

Stephen Ferris was unavailable for selection after sustaining an ankle injury in training. 

Ulster: R Andrew; T Bowe, D Cave, L Marshall, A Trimble; P Jackson, P Marshall; T Court, R Herring, R Lutton, J Muller (captain), I Henderson, C Henry, S Doyle, N Williams.

Replacements: N Annett, A Warwick, D Fitzpatrick, L Stevenson, M McComish, M Heaney, J McKinney, C Gilroy.