David Kearney, Jack McGrath and James Coughlan have been named in a 34-player squad for the forthcoming Guinness Series against Samoa, Australia and New Zealand.

The uncapped trio have been rewarded for their early season form for Leinster (Kearney and McGrath) and Munster (Coughlan) in the RaboDirect PRO12 and Heineken Cup.

Munster prop David Kilcoyne, who has eight caps, is the most notably omission, with his place going to McGrath.

Stephen Ferris, Richardt Strauss, Tommy O'Donnell, Jordi Murphy and Simon Zebo Donnacha Ryan and Iain Henderson are all ruled out through injury. 

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt commented: "The squad combines players who have shown form in the domestic season mixed with those who have a proven record at international level.
“As always there were some very difficult decisions. Some players have had limited opportunity to impress due to injury and others have performed very well and it was difficult to leave them out.
“The Guinness Series will demand plenty from the squad and I know they'll be motivated by the challenge.”

The three-test schedule starts with Samoa on Saturday 9 November at 5.45 pm, followed by Australia on Saturday 16 November, again at 5.45 pm before the finale against World Champions New Zealand on Sunday 24 November at 2pm.

Ireland Squad:
Backs:  Isaac Boss, Tommy Bowe, Gordon D'Arcy, Keith Earls, Robbie Henshaw, Paddy Jackson, David Kearney, Rob Kearney, Ian Madigan, Luke Marshall, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Brian O'Driscoll, Eoin Reddan, Jonathan Sexton.

Forwards: Stephen Archer, Rory Best, James Coughlan, Tom Court, Sean Cronin, Declan Fitzpatrick, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Chris Henry, Mike McCarthy, Jack McGrath, Kevin McLaughlin, Sean O'Brien, Paul O'Connell, Peter O'Mahony, Mike Ross, Mike Sherry, Devin Toner, Dan Tuohy.