/ Rugby

Two uncapped players in Scotland 6 Nations squad

Updated: Wednesday, 15 Jan 2014 13:35 | Comments

Winger Dougie Fife has earned a call-up to the Scotland squad
Winger Dougie Fife has earned a call-up to the Scotland squad



Scotland head coach Scott Johnson has named uncapped duo Dougie Fife and Chris Fusaro in his 36-man squad for the RBS 6 Nations.

Edinburgh winger Fife is called up for the first time, while Glasgow flanker Fusaro will hope to make his first appearance for the Dark Blues after failing to see action during the autumn Tests.

The squad contains 16 Glasgow Warriors, 11 from Edinburgh and nine exiles.

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson, whose side play Ireland in the opening round on Sunday, 2 February in Lansdowne Road, said: "We've been watching Dougie closely.

"He's worked hard over the last 12 months, from being part of the A squad this time last year to becoming a first-choice selection at Edinburgh Rugby, and now to becoming a proven try scorer in the Rabo. He deserves this selection.

"We do have competition in the back-row and there are other players knocking on the door who may feature for the Scotland A team against England Saxons at the end of this month.

"Chris Fusaro had a terrific game in the Heineken Cup at the weekend and I've been impressed by just how explosive some of our back-row contenders have been in their club sides."

Johnson made clear the squad announced is for next week's training which will take place primarily at the Heriot-Watt University campus on the western outskirts of Edinburgh.

"We will announce an A squad next week for the match against England Saxons at Scotstoun at the end of the month and, as I see it, a number of players could yet force their way into the senior squad during the Six Nations," he said.

"I've been impressed by just how explosive some of our back-row contenders have been"

Missing from the group are injured Glasgow duo Alastair Kellock and Peter Horne, while Edinburgh's Tim Visser and Euan Murray of Worcester also miss out.

Glasgow scrum-half Henry Pyrgos, meanwhile, drops out of the squad altogether after Johnson named only two number nines, Edinburgh's Greig Laidlaw and Pyrgos' Scotstoun team-mate Chris Cusiter.

Scotland squad

J Beattie (Montpellier) 
K Brown (Saracens) 
G Cross (Edinburgh) 
D Denton (Edinburgh) 
A Dickinson (Edinburgh) 
R Ford (Edinburgh)
C Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors) 
G Gilchrist (Edinburgh) 
R Grant (Glasgow Warriors) 
J Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 
R Gray (Castres) 
J Hamilton (Montpellier)
R Harley (Glasgow Warriors) 
S Lawson (Newcastle Falcons) 
K Low (London Irish) 
M Low (Glasgow Warriors) 
P MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors) 
R Rennie (Edinburgh) 
A Strokosch (Perpignan) 
T Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) 
R Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).

C Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) 
N De Luca (Edinburgh) 
A Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) 
M Evans (Castres) 
D Fife (Edinburgh) 
S Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) 
R Jackson (Glasgow Warriors) 
S Lamont (Glasgow Warriors) 
G Laidlaw (Edinburgh) 
S Maitland (Glasgow Warriors) 
M Scott (Edinburgh) 
T Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) 
D Taylor (Saracens) 
G Tonks (Edinburgh) 
D Weir (Glasgow Warriors)

Live and exclusive radio coverage of Leicester v Ulster on Saturday Sport from 2:45pm on Saturday 18 January on RTÉ Radio 1 and RTÉ.ie (Worldwide).

Live and exclusive radio coverage of Leinster v Ospreys on Game On from 7pm on Friday 17 January on RTÉ 2fm and RTÉ.ie (Worldwide). 

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use