Cian Healy will make his 100th Leinster appearance on Saturday as the province open their Heineken Cup title defence at home to Exeter Chiefs. The loose-head prop will start in the front row alongside Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross.

Skipper Leo Cullen partners Damian Browne at second row with Kevin McLaughlin continuing in the back-row alongside Shane Jennings and number Jamie Heaslip.

Rob Kearney trained on Thursday but pulled up sore afterwards, as a result Ian Madigan continues at full-back for his second Heineken Cup start.

Leinster XV to play Exeter Chiefs at the RDS: (15-9) Ian Madigan, Andrew Conway, Brian O'Driscoll, Fergus McFadden, Isa Nacewa, Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan. (1-8) Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen (capt), Damian Browne, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Heinke van der Merwe, Jamie Hagan, Devin Toner, Leo Auva'a, Jordi Murphy, Isaac Boss, Fionn Carr

Scrum-half Isaac Boss has recovered from the injury he sustained on the opening weekend of the league campaign and takes his place amongst the replacements alongside fellow Ireland internationals Sean Cronin and Devin Toner.