JP McNamara was awarded a special recognition award by his peers at the 17th Lesters Ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Saturday evening.

The jockey is making remarkable progress from the spinal injury he sustained in a fall at Bangor last April and was honoured with the Jump Jockey Special Recognition Award.

McNamara won one of ten awards handed out at the ceremony, sponsored by the Racing Post, the Racehorse Owners Association, At The Races, Anglo Irish Bank and Aegon Scottish Equitable.

Recently retired Richard Quinn won the equivalent award for Flat jockeys.

Jockeys' Association chief John Blake told the Racing Post: ‘I think JP's situation hits at the absolute core.

‘The awards are voted for by his fellow jockeys, who provide entertainment for the fans of the sport day in, day out.

‘What has happened to JP could happen to any jockey at any time. Every part of his rehabilitation process proves to be not only inspirational to jockeys, but also to members of the public.’

Tony McCoy won the Jump Jockey of the year award meaning since he was voted Conditional Jockey of the year in 1995, he has only suffered one blank year when Timmy Murphy was crowned 12 months ago.

Ryan Moore, after winning his first championship on the level, topped off a fantastic year by winning Flat Jockey of the year.

However, he was unable to collect his award due to riding commitments in Dubai, but he did record a video message.

Martin Dwyer' Derby winning ride on Sir Percy was voted the best Flat ride of the year by Racing Post readers while Henry Oliver won the National Hunt equivalent for Sissinghurst Storm in a Handicap Chase at Chepstow, voted for by At The Races viewers.

Other winners on the night were Stephen Donohoe (Apprentice), Hayley Turner (Lady Jockey), William Kennedy (Conditional) and Philip Makin (Aegon Scottish Equitable Special Award).