Amateur boxing's world governing body AIBA has overturned the result of Wednesday's Olympic bantamweight fight between Satoshi Shimizu and Magomed Abdulhamidov and awarded victory to the Japanese boxer.
Abdulhamidov had been given a 22-17 win despite being floored six times in the final round and penalised two points. The furious Japanese team immediately announced their intention to appeal the decision.
After reviewing the bout, the competition jury overturned the result, saying: "The boxer from Azerbaijan fell down six times during the final round."
They went on: "According to our rules, the referee should have counted at least three times. Following the AIBA Technical and Competition rules, the decision should have been RSC (Referee Stop Contest)."
Shimizu had reacted with astonishment to the verdict, saying: "I am so shocked about the result. I don't understand how I didn't win.
"I don't understand why the judges went against me. He fell down and the referee gave him almost 10 seconds to recover, which is not fair."