Declan Boyle led the Carlton Shearwater Galway Summer Rally throughout to maintain his bid for back-to-back titles in the Dunlop National Rally Championship.

Boyle led by 28.3 seconds in his Subaru WRC after the opening loop of the nine-stage race in Ballinasloe.

Second-placed Welsh drive Hugh Hunter (Subaru WRC) experienced problems with his launch control and lost more time on the second loop when his car developed fuel pump troubles.

Meanwhile, Roy White (MG ZR) took third to remain in the title chase along with Steve Wood (Subaru WRC), who was stymied by turbo troubles.

Although he retired with transmission woes, Tyrone’s Paddy McVeigh is still in contention for the Dunlop series.

Maynooth’s Kevin Barrett (Subaru WRC) came home in fifth place after suffering some brake fade on the opening stages.