/ Motorsport

O'Riordan pips Donnelly in Bantry

Updated: Sunday, 30 Oct 2011 21:40

O'Riordan pips Donnelly in Bantry

The Bantry based Westlodge Hotel Fastnet Rally, the final round of the Dunlop National Rally Championship was won by Cork driver Daragh O’Riordan (Subaru WRC) and his Derry co-driver Tony McDaid.

They fended off the challenge of Eugene Donnelly/Alan Keena (Toyota Corolla WRC) and emerged victorious by six seconds.

Local crew, Denis Cronin/Coleman Hurley (Subaru WRC) were third, 41 seconds further adrift.

Lisburn’s, Wesley Patterson/Martin McGarrity (Escort) clinched the rally.ie award within the Dunlop series.

Meanwhile, Barry Meade/Liam Moynihan (Ford Escort) were the top Modified crew, they were fourth overall.

Stephen Carey/Breda O’Driscoll (Honda Civic) won the Group N category.