Meath’s Tim McNulty (Subaru WRC) and his Sligo co-driver, Paul Kiely clinched the Dunlop National Rally Championship with a fine victory in the Auburn Lodge Clare Rally.

It was their sixth victory in as many Dunlop outings and on this occasion they finished 53 seconds in front of Niall Maguire/Barry Goodman (Subaru WRC) with Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally (Subaru WRC) a distant third.

McNulty said afterwards: "I couldn’t have asked for better. We have worked hard at this championship, people also worked hard in the background, we have a great team.

"Aside from your rivals, you have to cope with the weather, indeed, there are so many things that can go against you, nobody knows that better than myself. I’m delighted."

Meanwhile, Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly (Mitsubishi) won the Group N category and the top Modified crew was that of Wesley Patterson/Martin McGarrity (Ford Escort).

The Dunlop “Drive of the Day” award was won by Mike Quinn/Grainne McEnery (Ford Escort).

In the Dunlop Junior Rally Championship, Monaghan’s, Johnno and Padraig Doogan (Ford Escort) took an important victory to move into the lead of the series with just one round remaining, remarkably, all three of their championship rivals failed to finish.