By John Kenny

Dubliner Robert Barrable took time out from competing in the World Rally Championship (WRC) to win the inaugural Vivion Daly Memorial Trophy at the Abrekebabra Formula Ford Festival at Mondello Park.

Barrable, who won the Leinster Trophy also at Mondello Park back in 2008, quit circuit racing to concentrate fully on his rallying career and indeed he finished third on the recent Circuit of Ireland in his Fiesta R5.

However he switched back to his Van Diemen on Sunday to turn back the clock and collect the €2000 prize money on offer to win the trophy named in honour of the late Vivion Daly a one-time stalwart of Irish circuit racing.

Barrable, a former winner of the Billy Coleman award for Young Rally Driver of the Year, put his car on pole and led for the opening couple of laps in the 20 minute race,

He was briefly headed by the Mondiale of Kevin O’Hara, but he retook the lead late in the race to take the laurels ahead of O’Hara and the Van Diemen of Sean Doyle who took the third place on the podium

There was no luck for Niall Murray, the current Motorsport Ireland Young Racing Driver of the Year, who retired his Van Diemen after a clash with Noel Dunne two laps from home as the pair tangled in the battle for fourth.

The Festival revived after an absence of a number of years will now it is hoped become a permanent fixture on the Irish calendar after the reintroduction of the class to Ireland this season by Mondello.