Colin Montgomerie's Britain and Ireland team won a third successive Seve
Trophy at The Wynyard near Middlesbrough.

Even though Montgomerie lost the duel of the captains to Continental Europe skipper Jose Maria Olazabal - the Spaniard also won when they last met in match play at the 1984 British amateur final - there were victories from David Howell, Paul Casey, Graeme McDowell and Stephen Dodd.

Ian Poulter gained a half and the trophy was secured when Bradley Dredge, who had lost his three previous games, beat Thomas Levet two and one.
Howell and Casey both won four of their five games.

Britain and Ireland won 16 1/2 to 11 1/2, with Nick Dougherty and Henrik Stenson agreeing a half on the last. It made Stenson the only unbeaten player in the week.

Padraig Harrington and Paul McGinley featured for Ireland, with McGinley doing well to win his final match, coming from behind to defeat Miguel Angel Jiminez.

Click below for final day scores