Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell have been grouped together for the first two rounds of the US Open at Pinehurst.

McIlroy, who won his first major title by eight shots at the US Open in Congressional in 2011, tees off at 7.40am local time (12.40pm Irish time) on Thursday with 2010 winner McDowell and 2012 champion Webb Simpson.

Shane Lowry will play with Brendon de Jonge and Kevin Stadler at 6.14pm, while Darren Clarke will feature alongside Ernie Els and Louis Oosthuizen.

World number one Adam Scott is out at 6.25pm Irish time along with Bubba Watson, the man who succeeded him as Masters champion in April, and 2011 Green Jacket winner Charl Schwartzel.

Justin Rose faces an early start to the defence of his title at Pinehurst.

Rose, who won his maiden major title at Merion last year, will tee off at 7.51am local time (12.51pm Irish time) alongside Open champion Phil Mickelson and US Amateur champion Matt Fitzpatrick, who will turn professional at the end of the event.

Three of the game's youngest stars have also been drawn together, the grouping of Jordan Spieth, Hideki Matsuyama and Rickie Fowler having a combined age of just 67.