Dublin came into this game as favourites to lift the minor ‘A’ title on Sunday, and unfortunately for the Laois team, the bookies had started to pay out at the end of the first half.

Laois were first open the scoring with a point from Shona Barry in the second minute, but from there on it was Dublin that hit the ground running as they notched up a convincing nine point to two within the first quarter of the game. 

Player of the match Noelle Healy was in unstoppable form, the St Brigid's player pointing five, while Fiona Hudson, Amy Connolly and Sinead Cullen combined to add a further goal and seven points, the score board reading Dublin 1-12, Laois 0-02.

While it was all one way traffic for the Dubs, the O’Moore girls never gave up the chase. They upped their game in the second half. But despite notching up a further five points and pulling a top drawer save from Dublin's number one Hannah Tyrell  they were unable to close the gap.

The Dubs continued to inflict pain on the Laois side throughout the second half, and for the neutral it was a display of what ladies football at the highest level is all about.

This is not the end of the season for the Dublin or Laois minors, as both sides go forward to compete in the quarter-finals of the All-Ireland series.

Dublin's number 11 Noelle Healy stepped up to loud applause from her team mates and fans to collect the player of the match from the Leinster president Bill Daly.

Dublin: Hannah Tyrell, Aoife Burke, Karen McGlynn, Ailish McKenna, Sinead O’ Mahoney, Sinead Goldrick(0-01), Roisin Ryan, Niamh McEvoy, Amy Connolly(1-01), Fiona Hudson (1-05), Noelle Healy (0-07), Arlene Cushen, Amy Ring, Natalia Hyland (0-04), Sinead Cullen (0-01), Shona Barrett.

Laois: Caoimhe Egan, Clodagh Brennan, Kate Dunne, Maureen Young, Ciara O’Donovan, Amy Grehan, Rhona Julian, Anna Moore, Martina Cripps, Sarah McEvoy, Shona Barry(0-03), Sinead Doogue(0-01), Rachel Williams, Rosemary Bermingham, Alice Malone(0-03f).

Referee: Pat Kehoe (Carlow)