Sydney Swans' Tadhg Kennelly and Dublin All-Ireland hero Stephen Cluxton have been named in Anthony Tohill's Ireland squad to travel to Australia for this year’s International Rules series.

Manager Tohill has named 18 players in his initial squad and will add another five players ahead of the tour Down Under.

Dublin goalkeeper Cluxton, who scored the match-winning point in this year’s All-Ireland final, has been named as the team captain.

Former Kerry star Kennelly recently announced his retirement from Aussie Rules and will now get one last chance to compete with his AFL counterparts before he calls it a day.

Tohill said: “I would like to sincerely thank all on the panel who have trained extremely hard over the past number of weeks. The level of commitment has been exemplary.

“The strong interest shown amongst players demonstrates the enthusiasm for the game and the importance players place on representing their country.”

Eoin “Bomber” Liston, Kevin O’Brien, Séan Óg de Paor and Kieran McGeeney will assist Tohill as selectors.

Ireland squad to face Australia in the upcoming tour of Australia:

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin, capt.), Ciarán McKeever (Armagh, v capt.), Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Kieran Donaghy (Kerry), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Finian Hanley (Galway), Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans), Steven Mc Donnell (Armagh), Kevin McKernan (Down), Joe McMahon (Tyrone), Neil McGee (Donegal), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Darran O’Sullivan (Kerry), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Aidan Walsh (Cork).