Barry Kelly named referee for hurling final

Updated: Monday, 25 Aug 2014 14:22 | Comments

Barry Kelly will take charge of a fourth final
Barry Kelly will take charge of a fourth final

Barry Kelly has been named as the referee for this year's All-Ireland SHC final between Kilkenny and Tipperary. 

The Westmeath man will take charge of his fourth final.

He has previously refereed the 2012 final between Kilkenny and Galway, the 2008 final between Kilkenny and Waterford and the 2006 decider between Kilkenny and Cork.  

In this year’s Hurling Championship, Kelly has refereed the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship quarter-final between Limerick and Wexford, the Leinster Senior Hurling final between Dublin and Kilkenny and the Munster semi-final clash of Tipperary and Limerick.

His umpires on the day will be Séamus O’Brien, Michael Coyle (both St. Oliver Plunkett’s), Paddy Walsh (Clonkill) and Paul Reville (Turin).

Offaly’s Brian Gavin will be the standby referee. The other linesman is Colm Lyons (Cork) and the sideline official will be Cathal McAllsiter (Cork).

Tipp's Fergal Horgan will be officiating the Minor match between Kilkenny and Limerick. 

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use