GAA digest: Three changes for Kilkenny ahead of Tipp showdown

Updated: Saturday, 03 May 2014 13:16 | Comments

Jackie Tyrrell replaces Brian Hogan in the Kilkenny line-up Keith Higgins will start in defence for Mayo against New York Gaelic Park is set to host another Connacht Championship clash
Jackie Tyrrell replaces Brian Hogan in the Kilkenny line-up Keith Higgins will start in defence for Mayo against New York Gaelic Park is set to host another Connacht Championship clash


Kilkenny have made three changes for Sunday's Allianz Hurling League final but opponents Tipperary have kept faith with their semi-final winning line-up.

Jackie Tyrrell replaces Brian Hogan at centre-back and Joey Holden comes at right wing-back, which means Padraig Walsh moves to midfield and Richie Hogan will play in the half-forward line, with Walter Walsh dropping to the bench.

Richie Power replaces his brother John at corner forward.

Injury concerns Patrick 'Bonner' Maher and Niall O'Meara have been passed fit to start in the Tipperary attack, as the Premier name the same XV that beat Clare in the last four.

Kilkenny: E Murphy; P Murphy, JJ Delaney, B Kennedy; J Holden, J Tyrrell, C Buckley; M Fennelly, P Walsh; R Hogan, C Fennelly, TJ Reid; R Power, M Kelly, H Shefflin. 

Tipperary: D Gleeson; C Barrett, Padraic Maher, M Cahill; J Barry, B Maher, C O'Mahony; K Bergin, J Woodlock; D Maher, Patrick Maher, J O'Dwyer; N McGrath, S Callanan, N O'Meara.

Meanwhile, Keith Higgins has been brought back into the defence for Mayo ahead of their Connacht Football Championship opener against New York on Sunday (7.30pm Irish time).

Higgins has played in the forward line since last year’s All-Ireland quarter-finals but following defeat to Derry in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1 semi-finals James Horan has changed the entire full-back line.

Shane McHale and Brendan Harrison lose out and Ger Cafferkey is injured. Kevin Keane and Tom Cunniffe will return on Sunday alongside Higgins.

Diarmuid O’Connor makes his Championship debut. His older brother Cillian also returns, with Alan Freeman losing out.

Horan's team is hugely experienced with 12 of the 15 that started in last year's All-Ireland final down to play.

Mayo: R Hennelly; T Cunniffe, K Keane, K Higgins; L Keegan, C Boyle, D Vaughan; J Gibbons, A O'Shea; D O'Connor, S O'Shea, J Doherty; K McLoughlin, A Moran (captain), C O'Connor.

The New York team includes five players that started against Leitrim in Gaelic Park last year.

Gavin Joyce keeps his place in goal, with Keith Scally moving from center back to right half back and Alan Raftery moving out to midfield from the half back line.

Gary O'Driscoll pushes forward from midfield to corner forward, while Jason Kelly will start once again at number 11.

Into the line up for their championship debuts in the New York colours are captain Brendan Quigley from Laois, Down pair Gerard McCartan and Keith Quinn, former Donegal player Ross Wherity and Denis O'Sullivan from Cork. 

New York: G Joyce; R McGinley, G McCartan, K O' Connor; K Scally, P O'Connor, D O Sullivan; B Quigley (capt), A Raftery; P Boyle, J Kelly, R Wherity; J McGeeney, K Quinn, G O' Driscoll

Wexford hurling manager Liam Dunne must plan without the services of James Tonks and Rhys Clarke for the upcoming Leinster Championship. Both players can’t give the necessary commitment as the Model County prepare for a meeting with the Leinster round robin winner on 1 June.

Ciaran Kenny, however, is now back in full training after overcoming a hamstring injury.

Live coverage and updates of all the day's GAA action from 14:00 on Sunday 4 May on RTÉ Radio 1, RTÉ RnaG and RTÉ.ie (Worldwide). Television highlights on League Sunday from 19:30 on RTÉ Two and RTE.ie (Ireland only)

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use