Mount Leinster Rangers became the first Carlow side to reach the Leinster Club SHC final courtesy of a shock 1-17 to 3-09 win over Ballyboden St Enda’s in Dr Cullen Park.

The Dublin champions led 2-07 to 0-11 at the break, with Gavin Corrigan among the goals for the visitors.

But they were left to rue a saved Paul Ryan penalty as Rangers held on for an historic win and booked a place in the final against Oulart-The Ballagh.

A superb second-half display saw the Wexford champions through to the final as they saw off Offaly’s Kilcormac-Killoughey in difficult conditions in Tullamore.

Oulart's Shaun Murphy struggles to get away from Ciaran Slevin

Last year’s beaten All-Ireland finalists Kilcormac-Killoughey trailed by four points early on but goals from Ciaran Slevin, from a long-range free, and Dan Currams gave them a 2-06 to 0-07 lead at the break.

However, the visitors surged at the start of the second half and a Rory Jacob goal helped Martin Storey’s men to a fully deserved 1-18 to 2-11 win, the first time Oulart has beaten a side from the Faithful county in the senior Club Championship.

In Munster, Clare again proved to have the edge over Cork opposition as Sixmilebridge claimed a four-point win over Midleton in Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Alan Mulready and Conor Lehane both raised first-half green flags as the Clare champions led by 1-07 to 1-06 at half-time.

Seadhna Morey

And the visitors did enough to hold on for a 1-17 to 1-13 win and book a place in the final against Na Piarsaigh of Limerick.

Elsewhere, Youghal beat Ballina to claim the Munster IHC title, while in Connacht Kilnadeema Leitrim claimed the IHC title beating Toreen in the final. 

Leinster Club SHC semi-finals
Mnt Leinster Rgs (Car) 1-17  Ballyboden St Enda's (Dub) 3-09
Oulart-The Ballagh (Wex) 1-18 Kilcormac-Killoughey (Off) 2-11

Munster Club SHC semi-final
Sixmilebridge (Clare) 1-17 Midleton (Cork) 1-13