Dublin 1-17 Wexford 0-12

Updated: Saturday, 15 Jun 2013 21:44 | Comments

Dublin's Stephen Hiney and Wexford's Garrett Sinnott
Dublin's Stephen Hiney and Wexford's Garrett Sinnott

Dublin’s 1-17 to 0-12 replay win over Wexford at Parnell Park earned them a Leinster SHC semi-final clash with Kilkenny.

Wexford centre back Andrew Shore was sent off after five minutes, and a 1-5 tally from Paul Ryan helped Dublin to a 1-9 to 0-4 interval lead.

The home side finished strongly, with scores from Conal Keaney, David Treacy and Danny Sutcliffe to win comfortably and send Wexford into a qualifier clash with Antrim.

Dublin appeared uncertain as to whether to step up the attacking thrust or use their extra man in defence once Shore received a straight red card following an early melee.

They eventually settled for the more conservative option, and struggled to get any momentum going against their 14 opponents.

Paul Ryan drilled over a couple of frees, and even after he smashed in a 12th-minute goal, Anthony Ryan’s men were still searching for a measure of self-expression.

Conal Keaney’s searching delivery was missed by Eoin Moore, who allowed Ryan in behind to collect and steer his shot past Mark Fanning.

Jack Guiney kept Wexford in touch with his crisp striking from frees, with Garrett Sinnott also slotting over a neat score.

John McCaffrey’s long-range point kept wind-assisted Dublin in front and, by the 23rd minute, they led by 1-6 to 0-4, with Ryan the only attacker to score for the home side.

By this stage, his tally stood at 1-5, all of his points coming from frees.

But all that changed in the final 10 minutes of the half, with Peter Kelly, Keaney and David Treacy all powering over excellent long-range scores.

Treacy could have had a goal as well, but just failed to stretch far enough to connect with Conor McCormack’s zipping cross.

Dublin led by 1-9 to 0-4 at the halfway stage, and in a dramatic opening to the second half, both sides crafted goal chances, both denied by superb goalkeeping.

Wexford’s Sinnott was foiled by Gary Maguire just as he was about to pull the trigger and, at the other end, Mark Fanning made a spectacular stop from Ryan O’Dwyer.

Now with the wind in their backs, Wexford began to perform with greater confidence, and when Guiney thumped over a monster 100-metre free, they had the deficit trimmed back to six.

But the handicap of playing with a man short began to tell as the game entered its final quarter and the home side, having gone almost a quarter of an hour without a score, posted four in as many minutes.

Even the heroics of Wexford full-back Tomas Waters were powerless to prevent Danny Sutcliffe, John McCaffrey, Treacy and Keaney from steering over quality points as the Dubs opened out a 10-point advantage.

Waters took a number of high catches and cleared with conviction as the Dubs piled forward, and he was instrumental in helping the visitors turn the game back in their favour, if only temporarily and very much in vain.

Paul Morris, with two, Rory Jacob and Sinnott all managed to break through for points, but there were no worries for a Dublin side that had the result in the bag from a much earlier stage.

They won with plenty to spare, but without the steel, style and substance they will need to muster from somewhere if they are to trouble the All-Ireland champions at Portlaoise next Sunday.

Dublin: G Maguire, N Corcoran, P Kelly (0-1), P Schutte, M Carton, L Rushe, S Hiney, J McCaffrey (0-2), J Boland, C McCormack, R O’Dwyer, D Sutcliffe (0-1), P Ryan (1-9, 0-8f, 0-1 ’65), C Keaney (0-2), D Treacy (0-2).

Subs: S Durkin for Schutte, D O’Callaghan for McCormack, S Lambert for Rushe, M Schutte for Treacy, N McMorrow for Sutcliffe

Wexford: M Fanning, E Moore, T Waters, B Kenny, R Kehoe, A Shore, C Kenny, H Kehoe (0-1), L Chin, G Sinnott (0-2), E Quigley, D Redmond, P Morris (0-2), J Guiney (0-5, 5f), R Jacob (0-1).

Subs: PJ Nolan for Quigley, P Doran (0-1) for Redmond, M O’Regan for H Kehoe, G Moore for Jacob

Referee: B Galvin (Offaly).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use