Limerick 1-18 Tipperary 1-15

Updated: Monday, 10 Jun 2013 13:11 | Comments

Declan Hannon accounted for 0-09 of Limerick's total Tipperary's Pa Bourke with Wayne McNamara and Donal O'Grady of Limerick
Declan Hannon accounted for 0-09 of Limerick's total Tipperary's Pa Bourke with Wayne McNamara and Donal O'Grady of Limerick


Limerick stunned Tipperary in the Munster SHC semi-final at the Gaelic Grounds, 1-18 to 1-15. 

A rip-roaring final 20 minutes from the Shannonsiders, which saw them outscore the red-hot pre-match favourites by 0-09 to 0-02, sends the Treaty County through to a Munster final meeting with Clare or Cork on 14 July

Limerick led by 1-07 to 0-07 at half-time but Tipp recovered to lead by four points in the second half, before the hosts came roaring back in front of 19,507 spectators.

John O’Dwyer came off the bench to score 1-03 in the second half for Tipp.

On his senior Championship debut, O’Dwyer fired home a brilliant 49th-minute goal and Tipp led by 1-13 to 1-09.

Limerick fans feared the worst as their side had blown a five-point advantage in Thurles last year against the same opponents.

But this year’s vintage is made of steely stuff and as Tipp managed just two more points for the remainder of the game, Limerick ran riot.

This was Limerick’s first Championship victory against The Premier County since 2007 – the last year that the Shannonsiders contested a provincial final.

Limerick fought back to draw level at 1-14 apiece and when the fat was in the fire, John Allen’s side dug deep to gain a famous win.

They edged two points clear with points from subs Shane Dowling and Niall Moran, before Eoin Kelly dragged Tipp back into contention with five minutes left.

But Limerick were flying and they bagged the final two scores through captain Donal O’Grady, who was excellent, and Declan Hannon, scorer of 0-09 on the day.

At half-time, Limerick led by 1-07 to 0-07 and they had goalkeeper Nickie Quaid to thank for two brilliant saves to deny Seamus Callanan and Pa Bourke what looked like certain goals.

With both full-back lines looking suspect, Seanie Tobin profited for Limerick’s 19th-minute goal, whipping home off the base of an upright after Brendan Cummins had scooped the ball clear in a goalmouth scramble.

Limerick’s aerial bombardment had Tipperary on the back foot and the visitors were troubled by the sheer ferocity of the home challenge.

Tipp were 0-03 to 0-01 behind early on and they were five down when Tobin netted.

But the Premier were still in contention at half-time and when O’Dwyer buried that second-half goal, it appeared that the visitors would go on to claim a comfortable win.

Limerick had other ideas, however, as they stormed through to the provincial final – with Tipperary now facing the prospect of the back door for the first time since 2010.

Scorers for Limerick: D Hannon 0-09 (5f, 1 65), S Tobin 1-01, D O’Grady 0-03, S Dowling 0-02 (1f), D Breen, J Ryan & N Moran 0-01 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: J O’Dwyer 1-03, S Callanan 0-04f, J O’Brien 0-03, E Kelly 0-02 (1f), B Maher, N McGrath & P Bourke 0-01 each.

Limerick: N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, T Condon; P O’Brien, W McNamara, G O’Mahony; P Browne, D O’Grady; S Hickey, D Breen, J Ryan; G Mulcahy, D Hannon, S Tobin.
Subs: C Allis for Breen (42), S Dowling for Hickey (49), N Moran for Tobin (61), C King for Browne (66), K Downes for Ryan (69).

Tipperary: B Cummins; P Stapleton, P Curran, M Cahill; K Bergin, C O’Mahony, Pádraic Maher; B Maher, S McGrath; P Bourke, Patrick Maher, J O’Brien; S Bourke, S Callanan, N McGrath.
Subs: J O’Dwyer for S Bourke (half-time), E Kelly for P Bourke (44), B O’Meara for Callanan (49), C O’Brien for S McGrath (64), L Corbett for B Maher (67).

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly).

Highlights and analysis of all the weekend’s action on The Sunday Game from 21:30 on Sunday 9 June on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use