Ballyhale win in Kilkenny, Thurles Sarsfields and De La Salle set for Munster final

Updated: Monday, 12 Nov 2012 10:54 | Comments

Ballyhale Shamrocks' Michael Fennelly under pressure from Robbie Fitzpatrick of Dicksboro
Ballyhale Shamrocks' Michael Fennelly under pressure from Robbie Fitzpatrick of Dicksboro

Ballyhale Shamrocks were crowned Kilkenny Hurling Champions this afternoon after claiming a 0-16 0-12 victory over Dicksboro at Nowlan Park.

Heavy favourites coming into the game, Ballyhale could even afford two missed Henry Shefflin penalties on their way to victory.

Ballyhale started brightly, racing into a 0-04 to 0-00 lead after 15 minutes, but Dicksboro rallied and trailed by just 0-09 0-07 at half-time.

However Ballyhale started the second half the same way they started the first, re-establishing their dominance and eventually ran out four-point winners.

Elsewhere Thurles Sarsfields and De La Salle Waterford will contest the Munster Club Hurling final after they both came through tricky semi-final encounters.

Thurles Sarsfields claimed a five-point victory over Sarsfields of Cork, winning 2-20 2-15, while De La Salle edged out Newmarket on Fergus 1-10 0-10.

After an even opening spell in Semple Stadium, Thurles Sarfields took control when Lar Corbett scored a stunning solo goal with just 10 minutes on the clock. However a Cork Sarsfields goal from Eoin Quigley just three minutes latter levelled things at 1-04 apiece.

Sarfields edged into a three-point lead by half-time, extending that to five points before Quigely’s second goal of the afternoon pulled the Cork side back into the game. That goal was cancelled out by a late Richie Ruth effort that helped his side claim a place in the final.

De La Salle meanwhile had a late John Keane goal to thank for their victory over Newmarket on Fergus.

In a tight game in which the sides were never more than two points apart until the end, Keane struck in injury time to break Newmarket hearts.

Kilkenny SHC final
Ballyhale Shamrocks 0-16 Dicksboro 0-12

Munster Club SHC semi-finals
Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary) 2-20 Sarsfields (Cork) 2-15 Newmarket-on-Fergus (Clare) 0-10 De La Salle (Waterford) 1-10

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use