Newmarket-on-Fergus claim first Clare senior championship in 31 years

Updated: Sunday, 28 Oct 2012 19:45

Enda Barrett lifts the trophy as Newmarket-on-Fergus celebrate county glory again
Enda Barrett lifts the trophy as Newmarket-on-Fergus celebrate county glory again

Newmarket-on-Fergus claimed their first Clare senior hurling championship since 1981 with a 3-10 0-09 win over Cratloe at Cusack Park in Ennis.

Shane O'Brien bagged two goals for the winners in the first ninety seconds and there were always in control thereafter, in spite of Cratloe's spirited second half showing. A Colin Ryan goal late on sealed the issue for Newmarket-on-Fergus, who will now meet De La Salle of Waterford in the first round of the Munster Championship.

In that competition, Thurles Sarsfields ran out 2-12 0-15 winners over Kilmallock.

A Pa Bourke goal from a 20-yard free had the Tipperary champions in control at half-time as they led 1-07 0-05. Kilmallock started positively in the second period and cut the deficit to two points.

However, Lar Corbett goaled on 43 minutes to give Sarsfields some breathing and they eventually ran out three-point winners.

In the Ulster club hurling final, Loughgiel of Antrim were comfortable 2-25 0-12 winners over Portaferry of Down at Casement Park. Effort from Shay Casey and Liam Watson saw green flags lifted for the Saffrons. 


Ulster SHC club final

Loughgiel (Antrim) 2-25 Portaferry (Down) 0-12

Munster SHC club quarter-final

Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary) 2-12 Kilmallock (Limerick) 0-15

Ulster IHC club final 

Lisbellaw (Fermanagh) 3-14 St Brigids Cloughmills (Antrim) 2-10

Ulster JHC club final

Bredagh (Down) 4-18 Na Magha (Derry) 3-7

Clare SHC final

Newmarket-on-Fergus 3-10 Cratloe 0-09