Shefflin named All Star for 10th time

Updated: Friday, 21 Oct 2011 23:14

Henry Shefflin - That's All Star number 10 for the Kilkenny legend
Henry Shefflin - That's All Star number 10 for the Kilkenny legend

Henry Shefflin established a new record by receiving his 10th All-Star award and is one of eight Kilkenny players named on the 2011 GAA GPA All Star hurling team.

Last year, Kilkenny's Tommy Walsh equalled the record of eight-in-a-row (picking up awards in five different positions - the first four at midfield, left corner-back, left half-forward, left half-back and the last four at right half-back) and his award this year sets a new record of nine consecutive awards.

The first time winners are Gary Maguire, Paul Murphy, Michael Cahill, Brian Hogan, Liam Rushe and Richie Hogan.

Dublin’s season is acknowledged by having two players in the selection for the first time since the inception of the scheme in 1971.

GAA president Christy Cooney said: “The excellence of Kilkenny and Tipperary has once again been acknowledged in the selection of the 15 players who make the cut for this year’s selection.

"The strides made by Dublin are also evident with two players included in the line up and John Mullane’s consistency is once again underlined with another award.

“Within Kilkenny’s haul of eight the personal feats of both Henry Shefflin and Tommy Walsh remind us that we are witnessing first-hand the skills of players who are as good as any that have played the game."

GPA CEO Dessie Farrell added: “Congratulations to the 15 hurlers chosen on this year’s GAA GPA All-Star team sponsored by Opel.

"While players understand the importance of the collective effort of a team it is nonetheless a very prestigious honour for the individual hurler to be recognised for his consistent contribution to that effort during the season.

“Also thanks to the committee of journalists for carrying out the difficult work of selecting the 2011 Hurling Team and for putting forward the nominees for the Player of the Year awards which will be chosen by the players and announced on tonight’s live broadcast on RTÉ television.”

2011 GAA GPA All-Star hurling team

1. Gary Maguire (Dublin)

Full backs
2. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
3. Paul Curran (Tipperary)
4. Michael Cahill (Tipperary)

Half backs
5. Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
6. Brian Hogan (Kilkenny)
7. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

8. Liam Rushe (Dublin)
9. Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)

Half forwards
10. Michael Rice (Kilkenny)
11. Richie Power (Kilkenny)
12. Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)

Full forwards
13. John Mullane (Waterford)
14. Lar Corbett (Tipperary)
15. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)