Cats top hurling All Star nominees

Updated: Thursday, 29 Sep 2011 21:02

Kilkenny - Regained their place at hurling's top table in 2011
Kilkenny - Regained their place at hurling's top table in 2011


Kilkenny lead the way with 14 nominations for this year's GAA GPA All Star hurling awards.

In total, six counties are represented, with All-Ireland runners-up Tipperary having 10 players nominated, the same number as Allianz League winners Dublin.

Waterford have six nominees, while Limerick have three and Galway have two.

The final team of 15 players will be presented at the banquet event at Convention Centre Dublin on Friday, 21 October and will be televised live on RTÉ television.

Nominees - 2011 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel:

Goalkeepers: Gary Maguire (Dublin), David Herity (Kilkenny), Brendan Cummins (Tipperary).

Full Backs: Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Niall Corcoran (Dublin), Paul Curran (Tipperary), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny), Michael Cahill (Tipperary), Tom Condon (Limerick), David Collins (Galway), Noel Hickey (Kilkenny).

Half backs: Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Brian Hogan (Kilkenny), Joey Boland (Dublin), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Conor O’Mahony (Tipperary), Shane Durkan (Dublin), Tony Browne (Waterford).

Midfielders: Donal O’Grady (Limerick), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Gearóid Ryan (Tipperary), Johnny McCaffrey (Dublin).

Half Forwards: Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Ryan O’Dwyer (Dublin), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Michael Rice (Kilkenny), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Pauric Mahony (Waterford).

Full forwards: Lar Corbett (Tipperary), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Paul Ryan (Dublin), Shane Walsh (Waterford), John Mullane (Waterford), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Eoin Kelly (Tipperary), Joe Canning (Galway).