Galway 1-21 Dublin 1-12

Updated: Sunday, 04 Sep 2011 16:58

The Galway minors celebrate their ninth All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship title Galway cruised to a nine-point win at Croke Park
The Galway minors celebrate their ninth All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship title Galway cruised to a nine-point win at Croke Park


Galway strode to victory in the All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship final, with skipper Shane Maloney leading the way with a 1-09 tally.

There were many heroes on the day for Mattie Murphy’s side, with corner-back Padraic Mannion and midfielder Padraic Brehony playing starring roles in the county’s ninth success at this level, six of them under prolific manager Murphy.

It just didn’t happen on the day for Dublin, who were mastered in virtually every department by a skilful Galway side which hit spectacular form on the big occasion.

Midfielders Colm Cronin and Glenn Whelan gave Dublin an early edge, but a misfiring attack failed to turn possession into scores.

Cronin shot his side’s opening two points, but the Connacht lads kept in touch through Shane Maloney and wing back Adrian Tuohy.

And with Paul Killeen and Sean Sweeney performing superbly at the heart of the Galway defence, Dublin frustration grew.

Maloney drilled over his third point as the Tribesmen moved into a 0-05 to 0-03 lead by the 19th minute.

And as Galway tightened their grip on the contest, their opponents managed just one point in the second quarter, a Paul Winters free.

Galway hit the final five points of the half, with skipper Maloney bringing his tally to five with a couple of accurately struck frees.

Dean Higgins and Jason Flynn were also on target as they took a 0-10 to 0-04 lead into the interval, but the Dubs closed the gap through Aodhan Clabby and Matthew McCaffrey.

However, Maloney continued to torment their defence, hitting the target from play and frees.

A superb Ciaran Kilkenny point was instantly cancelled out by the excellent Brehony, and the Dubs were unable to find a way past Galway’s rock solid defence, in which Mannion and Sweeney shone brightly.

Paul Winters landed a couple of Dublin scores from placed balls, but Galway answered every minor setback in emphatic fashion, with Brehony bringing his tally to four, and sub Dara Dolan scoring with his first touch.

And Maloney capped a sparkling personal performance with a brilliant 60th minute goal.

Dublin’s consolation goal came direct from a Ciaran Kilkenny free in stoppage time.

Dublin: C Ryan, E Lowndes, C O’Callaghan, S McClelland; C Crummey, J Desmond, M McCaffrey (0-1), C Cronin (0-02), G Whelan, E Ó Conghaile, C McHugh, C Kilkenny (1-03, 1-01f), C Costello (0-01), A Clabby (0-02, 1f), P Winters (0-03, 2f, 1 ’65).

Subs: D Gormley for Desmond, O O’Rourke for McHugh, C Boland for Winters

Galway: S Mannion, C Diviney, P Killeen, P Mannion; A Tuohy (0-01), S Sweeney, J Hanbury, P Brehony (0-04), D Higgins (0-01), J Flynn (0-03), J Glynn, B Lane, G O'Donoghue (0-01), J Carr (0-01), S Maloney (1-09 (0-06f).

Subs: M Mullan for Hanbury, K Cullinane for Higgins, D Dolan (0-1) for O’Donoghue, P Flaherty for Carr

Referee: J Ryan (Tipperary)