Dublin 2-17 Kilkenny 2-13

Updated: Sunday, 27 Feb 2011 21:50

Anthony Daly's Dublin side ran out four-point winners of the Walsh Cup
Anthony Daly's Dublin side ran out four-point winners of the Walsh Cup

There was delight for Anthony Daly's Dublin hurlers at Parnell Park on Sunday afternoon as they beat Kilkenny to become Walsh Cup champions.

The Dubs did most of the damage in the first half and a goal from midfielder Conor Clinton helped them to a 1-11 to 0-02 lead at the interval.

The Kilmacud Crokes clubman smashed the ball to the net on the rebound, after Dublin goalkeeper Alan Nolan had his initial penalty saved on the line.

Kilkenny failed to register a point from play in the opening 30 minutes, with Eoin Guinan and TJ Reid registering their only points.

Daire Plunkett grabbed Dublin's second goal on the restart as he drilled a shot to the far corner of the net, and their lead stood at 2-14 to 0-05 just 14 minutes into the second period.

Despite the weather conditions worsening, Kilkenny bounced back with substitutes Michael Fennelly, Eddie Brennan and Aidan Fogarty helping to make it a real contest.

TJ Reid drilled a 25-metre free to the back of the net in the 55th minute, and Fennelly drove a shot past Nolan, following a superb solo run, to cut the gap at 2-15 to 2-12 in the 63rd minute.

However, Dublin, with O'Dwyer, Clinton, Liam Rushe and McCaffrey putting in excellent displays, stood firm to claim their fifth Walsh Cup success and a first since 2003.

Tipperary native O'Dwyer pointed two late frees to seal the victory and take his personal haul to 0-06. Dublin's previous Walsh Cup title wins came in 1960, 1964, 1966 and 2003.