Ryan appointed as Tipperary hurling manager.

Updated: Wednesday, 10 Nov 2010 03:54

Declan Ryan is the new Tipperary huling manager
Declan Ryan is the new Tipperary huling manager

Declan Ryan has been confirmed as the new manager of the Tipperary hurlers.

Ryan, who won three All-Ireland SHC medals as a player with Tipperary in 1989, 1991 and 2001, has been appointed for a two-year term.

Clonoulty Rossmore-clubman Ryan was manager of the Tipperary minor hurling team when they won the All-Ireland title in 2007.

He will be joined by Tommy Dunne as coach and selector Michael Gleeson.

Dunne was the Tipperary captain when the Premier County won the All-Ireland SHC title in 2001 and was also involved in the coaching team which led Tipperary to the All-Ireland Under-21 title this year. Dunne was also the manager of the Toomevara senior hurling team this year.

Gleeson managed Thurles Sarsfields to victory in the Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship in 2009 and 2010. He has also managed Thurles Sarsfields minor teams to win county titles in both hurling and football.

Ryan and Dunne succeed Liam Sheedy who stepped down after guiding Tipperary to the All-Ireland hurling title this year.

Sheedy cited work commitments as the main factor in his decision to resign from the post.

This is the second time that the duo have succeeded Sheedy at the helm of an All-Ireland winning Tipperary team.

Sheedy guided Tipperary to the All-Ireland minor title in 2006, but resigned shortly after the victory due to family commitments. Ryan and Dunne took charge and led Tipperary to another All-Ireland minor title in 2007.