Tipperary top hurling All-Stars nominations

Updated: Friday, 24 Sep 2010 10:00

All-Ireland winning captain Eoin Kelly is nominated for what would be his sixth All-Star
All-Ireland winning captain Eoin Kelly is nominated for what would be his sixth All-Star

Tipperary have been rewarded for their stunning defeat of Kilkenny in this year’s All-Ireland hurling final as 14 of the team have been nominated for 2010 GAA All Stars.

The newly crowned All-Ireland champions last year claimed four All-Stars, after they also topped the nominations leaderboard at the end of an epic season which saw them pipped at the death by great rivals Kilkenny in the All-Ireland final.

Tipp will be looking forward to crowning a magnificent year when the awards, along with the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards in both hurling and football, are presented live on RTÉ Two on Friday night, 15 October.

The football awards will be announced the day before.

But a coronation of a different kind is still on the cards as Henry Shefflin remains on course for a record 10th All-Star after also being nominated for this year’s awards.

Shefflin, who is nominated for a ninth successive time, will be hoping to surpass the record jointly held by his fellow county-man DJ Carey and Kerry football legend Pat Spillane, whom he joined on nine awards last year.

The seven-time All-Ireland senior hurling medal winner is one of 11 Kilkenny players nominated for awards this year, just one less than last year’s 12 nominees. Shefflin’s Kilkenny teammate Tommy Walsh, who has seven awards to his name, received his eighth successive nomination.

All-Ireland winning captain Eoin Kelly will be going for his sixth All-Star while Tipperary’s hat-trick hero of the All-Ireland final, Lar Corbett, will be hoping to pick up his second award.

Some 21 of the 45 nominees will be going for their first award – seven more than last year.

In all, seven counties have players nominated, with Offaly and Antrim with the smallest number of nominees, with one each.

Three players from last year’s All-Stars – goalkeeper PJ Ryan (Kilkenny), defender Conor O’Mahony (Tipperary) and midfielder Alan McCrabbe (Dublin) – were not nominated.

The GAA All-Stars, sponsored by Vodafone, Hurling Nominations for 2010 are:

Brendan Cummins (Tipperary)
Donal Óg Cusack (Cork)
Clinton Hennessy (Waterford)

Full backs:
Jackie Tyrell (Kilkenny)
Noel Connors (Waterford)
Ollie Canning (Galway)
Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary)
Paul Curran (Tipperary)
John Dalton (Kilkenny)
Shane Kavanagh (Galway)
Shane O'Neill (Cork)
Michael Cahill (Tipperary)

Half backs:
Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
JJ Delaney (Kilkenny)
Michael Walsh (Waterford)
Tony Browne (Waterford)
Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)
Tony Óg Regan (Galway)
Ronan Curran (Cork)
Declan Fanning (Tipperary)
John Gardiner (Cork)

Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)
Shane McGrath (Tipperary)
Brendan Maher (Tipperary
Ger Farragher (Galway)
Shane O'Sullivan (Waterford)
Michael Rice (Kilkenny)

Half forwards:
Noel McGrath (Tipperary)
Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)
Gearoid Ryan (Tipperary)
Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)
Niall McCarthy (Cork)
Damien Hayes (Galway)
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Lar Corbett (Tipperary)
Patrick Maher

Full forwards:
John Mullane (Waterford)
Eoin Kelly (Tipperary)
Richie Power (Kilkenny)
Shane Dooley (Offaly)
Patrick Horgan (Cork)
Joe Canning (Galway)
Liam Watson (Antrim)
Aidan Fogarty (Kilkenny)
John O'Brien (Tipperary)

Breakdown of nominations by counties is as follows:
Tipperary 14
Kilkenny 11
Cork 6
Galway 6
Waterford 6
Antrim 1
Offaly 1