Loughmore-Castleiney secure Munster club title

Updated: Sunday, 02 Dec 2007 21:57

Evan Sweeney after Loughmore claimed the Munster club crown Tulla's Paul Lynch is pursued by Loughmore's Paul Ormond
Evan Sweeney after Loughmore claimed the Munster club crown Tulla's Paul Lynch is pursued by Loughmore's Paul Ormond

Tipperary side Louhmore-Castleiney captured the Munster Club Senior Hurling title in awful conditions at Pairc na nGael on Sunday.

On a wet and windy day when scores were few and far between, the men from the Premier county put in a strong second-half performance against a brave Tulla side to take the Munster crown.

Both sides gave their all in a gritty contest that unfortunately was short on free-flowing action. Loughmore were arguably the better side and deserved the win, but the identity of the winner was in doubt right up to the final whistle.

Playing into the wind in the first period, Loughmore-Castleiney were only one score ahead at the break, leading by 1-3 to 0-5.

Loughmore's impressive wing forward Evan Sweeney conjured up the decisive goal, after he evaded his marker and scored from close range, and from that point on Tulla were always playing catch up.

In the second period, the men from Clare had the wind at their backs, and they came out fighting, scoring two points inside five minutes, the first from Aidan Lynch and then Conor O'Halloran added another.

The Clare champions edged ahead as a result of these scores, but Loughmore's Ciaran McGrath brought them level.

As the game wore on, tension mounted as neither team could pull away. But it was Loughmore who had that little bit extra and scores by Noel McGrath and another from corner-forward Eddie Connolly after 53 minutes sealed a hard-earned win.


Loughmore-Castleisland: E Sweeney (1-1) 0-1 f, R Stapleton, T King, C McGrath, N McGrath (f), E Connolly (0-1) each.

Tulla: A Lynch (0-4) f's, C O'Halloran (0-2), E Torpey (0-1).


Loughmore/Castleiney: J Gleeson (Capt.), A Stapleton,D Bourke, P Ormond, E Ryan, D Kennedy, T King, C McGrath, G Sweeney, E Sweeney, D McGrath, N McGrath, E Connolly, M Webster, R Stapleton.

Subs: J Campion for R Stapleton (54).

Tulla: P Brennan, E Cooney, S Torpey, J Brennan, C McInerney, M Quinn, P Lynch, B Lynch, D Murphy, C O'Halloran, M Murphy (Capt.), E Torpey, B Quinn, D O'Halloran, A Lynch.

Subs: A Quinn for D O'Halloran (54). K Brennan for D Murphy (62)

Referee: C McAllister (Cork)

Powered by NewsWhip