Cork v Kilkenny Classics - 1999 SHC final

Updated: Thursday, 14 Jun 2007 16:13

Diarmuid O'Sullivan and Henry Shefflin do battle in the 1999 final
Diarmuid O'Sullivan and Henry Shefflin do battle in the 1999 final

Watch live coverage of this year's Guinness All-Ireland Hurling final between Cork and Kilkenny on RTÉ TWO this Sunday from 12.30pm to 5.35pm. Listen live on RTÉ Radio 1 FM and LW 252.

Every day this week, RTÉ Publishing's Patrick Kennedy will look back on some of the most memorable encounters between Cork and Kilkenny.

The myth about Cats fearing water was proved to be true in the rain-soaked All-Ireland final of 1999.

Kilkenny entered the match as raging hot favourites, much as Cork will this Sunday, as they had been edged out in at the semi-final and final stages in the previous two seasons. They were particularly hurt by the way they had been caught by Offaly in the '98 decider. This was to be their year. 

Cork were fielding a young and inexperienced side that had just won their first Munster title since 1992. However, they got into their stride in the first half as Kilkenny were left for dead. In the windy and rainy conditions, the Cats took 17 minutes to register their first point. The interval score was 0-05 to 0-04 in favour of the Rebels.

Scores were hard top come by and, as they became more familiar with the conditions, the Noresiders moved four points clear.  Cork, in a bid to get back on top, moved Timmy McCarthy to midfield and it had the desired effect. Cork moved in front by two points in the 62nd minute and Kilkenny could only muster up a single reply, from Henry Shefflin, to leave the final score at 0-13 to 0-12 in the Corkmen's favour.

The Cork team featured eight of the starting team from this Sunday's decider.

The most surprising aspect of the final was its goalless nature. This had never occurred previously in an All-Ireland hurling final and has only happened once since, the 2004 decider when Cork began their current effort at winning three title in a row.

So the Rebels have the honour of winning an All-Ireland final without raising a green flag (twice including the 2004 final victory).