Tomás Quinn and Richie Feeney win provincial club awards

Updated: Tuesday, 25 Feb 2014 17:16 | Comments

Tomas Quinn (r) has helped St Vincent's reach the club All-Ireland fina
Tomas Quinn (r) has helped St Vincent's reach the club All-Ireland fina

Tomás Quinn and Richie Feeney were among the winners of provincial club awards this afternoon.

Quinn was honoured in Leinster for his role in helping St Vincent's reach the club All-Ireland final.

He will come up against fellow winner Feeney of Castlebar Mitchels who has been awarded the Connacht prize.

Other provincial football performance awards went to Dr. Crokes' star forward Johnny Buckley and Ballinderry Shamrocks defender Gareth McKinless.

Carlow's Mount Leinster Rangers' club man Richard Coady has enjoyed a truly special club championship season to date and he secured another significant win by taking the Leinster hurling nomination for 2013.

David Breen from Na Piarsaigh and two-time award recipient and 2012 All-Ireland medal winner Eddie McCloskey from Loughgiel Shamrocks were also winners.

For the first time camogie players were honoured for their contribution to the club championships.

Munster recipient Marie O'Neill, from Milford and Connacht winner Aoife Lynskey from Ardrahan, will meet in Croke Park this Sunday when Milford Camogie Club seek to secure back-to-back All Ireland club camogie titles.

The Ulster camogie accolade was awarded to Derry club team member, Eoghan Rua's Meabh McGoldrick, who won the Ulster title this year while the Leinster award was welcomed by Mullinavat's Julie Anne Malone.

The recipients were voted for by national and regional GAA media and the criteria focused on their overall performance in their club games throughout 2013. 

2013 AIB #TheToughest Provincial Club Award Winners


Connacht - Richie Feeney, Castlebar Mitchels

Leinster -Tomás Quinn, St. Vincent's

Munster - Johnny Buckley, Dr. Crokes

Ulster - Gareth McKinless, Ballinderry Shamrocks 


Leinster - Richard Coady, Mount Leinster Rangers

Munster - David Breen, Na Piarsaigh 

Ulster - Eddie McCloskey, Loughgiel Shamrocks 


Connacht - Aoife Lynskey, Ardrahan 

Leinster - Julie Anne Malone, Mullinavat

Munster - Marie O'Neill, Milford

Ulster - Meabh McGoldrick, Eoghan Rua

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use