GAA Digest: Kerry change two for Derry

Updated: Sunday, 09 Feb 2014 10:19 | Comments

Conor Cox comes in for the Kingdom Tyrone host Mayo on Sunday in Omagh
Conor Cox comes in for the Kingdom Tyrone host Mayo on Sunday in Omagh



Kerry have made two changes to the side beaten by Dublin last weekend to face Derry in Killarney on Sunday, 2pm

Brian Kelly comes into goal in rotation with Brendan Kealy, and up front Conor Cox, introduced against Dublin, comes in at corner forward with Stephen O’Brien moving to centre forward in place of Michael Geaney who drops to the subs bench.

Armagh welcome back captain Ciaran McKeever for their Allianz League Division 2 encounter against neighbours Down on Friday evening.

McKeever broke his wrist before Christmas, but is fit enough to start at centre-half-back.

Kevin Dyas also resumes his place in the XV and will line out at number 11.

In their opening game in the Division, Armagh came with a late surge to earn a share of the spoils against Louth in Drogheda.

Elsewhere in the second tier Donegal have kept faith with the side that hammered Laois for their game with Galway in Salthill on Sunday next.

Sligo have also opted for no change for their Division 3 trip to Brewster Park to take on Fermanagh. 

In other football news Tom Parsons is the latest addition to Mayo’s growing injury list ahead of the clash with Tyrone on Sunday, 2pm.  

The 25-year-old fell heavily during the defeat to Kildare and sustained a tear to both of his lungs.

It is expected that he will be out of action for over a month. He is replaced by Jason Gibbons in the only change to James Horan's side. 

Meanwhile, Emmet McKenna and Tiernan McCann will make their Allianz League debuts for Tyrone in Omagh. 

In all the team shows five changes that the side that drew with Derry last weekend. 

Dublin team to play Westmeath: S Cluxton; D Nelson, P McMahon, M Fitzsimons; E Lowndes, C O'Sullivan, J Cooper; MD Macauley, S Carthy; P Flynn, C Kilkenny, C Reddin; K McManamon, E O'Gara, C Costello.

Offaly team to play Cavan: A Mulhall;D Brady, P McConway, J O’Connor; M Brazil, J Moloney, N Darby; E Carroll, N Smith; G Guilfoyle, P Cunningham, C Hurley; K Casey, N Dunne, N McNamee (c). 

Kerry team to play Derry: B Kelly; P Murphy, M Griffin, S Enright; P Crowley, B McGuire, J Sherwood; A Maher, D Moran; J Lyne, S O’Brien, D Walsh (c); B J Keane, J O’Donoghue, C Cox.

Tyrone team to play Mayo: N Morgan; A McCrory, C Clarke, B Tierney; C McGinley, P Harte, T McCann; C Cavanagh, C Grugan; E McKenna, S McGuigan, P Hughes; D McCurry, M Donnelly, R O’Neill. 

Mayo team to play Tyrone: R Hennelly; K Keane, G Cafferkey, C Boyle; L Keegan, S McHale, B Harrison; A O'Shea, J Gibbons; C Carolan, K Higgins, A Gallagher; K McLoughlin, A Moran (c), D Coen.

Armagh team to play Down: P McEvoy; A Mallon, C Vernon, P Hughes; M Shields, C McKeever, C Rafferty; S Harold, E Rafferty; B Mallon, K Dyas, T Kernan; J Clarke, S Campbell, R Tasker

Donegal team to play Galway: P Durcan; K Lacey, N McGee, R McHugh; F McGlynn, L McLoone, A Thompson; R Kavanagh, M McElhinney; M McHugh, C Toye, O Mac Niallais; C McFadden, M Murphy, D Molloy

Sligo team to play Fermanagh: A Devaney; R Donavan, M Quinn, K Cawley; C Harrison, N Ewing, J Kelly; J Kilcullen, C Griffin; P Hughes, M Breheny, E McHugh; A Marren, D Kelly, S Coen. 

Derry team to play Kerry: T Mallon; D Brown, C McKaigue, D McBride; G O'Kane, M Lynch (c), A McAlynn; F Doherty, N Holly; S L McGoldrick, J Kielt, E Lynn; K Johnston, E McGuckin, C McGoldrick. 

Fermanagh team to play Sligo: C Snow; J Woods, T Daly, M O’Brien; D McCusker, R McCluskey, B Mulrone; R O'Callaghan, E Donnelly (c); C Cullen, R Jones, L Cullen; E Maguire, S Quigley, T Corrigan. 

Monaghan team to play Meath: R Beggan; R Wylie, D Wylie, F Kelly; D Mone, C Walshe, C Boyle; G Doogan, P Finlay; T Kerr, S Gollogly, P Keenan; D Malone, J McCarron, C McGuinness


Live coverage and updates of all the day’s Allianz League action on Sunday Sport from 14:00 on RTÉ Radio 1 and RTÉ.ie (Worldwide). Television highlights on League Sunday from 19:30 on RTÉ Two and RTE.ie (Ireland only).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use