Galway 0-12 Donegal 1-16

Updated: Sunday, 09 Feb 2014 19:02 | Comments

Galway's Paul Conroy and Karl Lacy of Donegal in action in Salthill
Galway's Paul Conroy and Karl Lacy of Donegal in action in Salthill


Donegal continued their impressive Allianz Football League Division Two start with a deserved 1-16 to 0-12 win at Pearse Stadium.

The 2012 All Ireland champions easily defeated Laois last week and Colm McFadden's 14th minute goal was a critical score in Salthill.

Donegal enjoyed a productive first half and they led 1-06 to 0-04 at the break.

Colm McFadden, a potent threat inside, grabbed a splendid goal and Galway were under pressure.

Alan Mulholland's charges did improve after the restart with Eoin Concannon efficient, but Michael Murphy and substitute Paddy McBrearty were prominent at the other end. 

Though Donegal were playing into the teeth of a strong wind initially they had sufficient power and pace to seriously trouble Galway.

Jim McGuinness' side with Frank McGlynn, Ryan McHugh, and Colm McFadden influential dealt with Galway's early burst.

Michael Martin and Gary Sice had kicked fine scores for Galway as the teams were level following 10 minutes.

McFadden and Michael Murphy had nailed Donegal's points as their smart running game had Galway in bother.

Donegal's clever approach work was evident in the 14th minute when the visitors' netted a delightful goal.

McGlynn, Mark McHugh, and Dermot Molloy were all involved with McFadden supplying a crisp goalscoring finish.

Paul Varley replied with a point for Galway, but Donegal were firmly in control until the interval.

Molloy (2) and McFadden (2) ensured Donegal went in 1-06 to 0-04 ahead at the break as Galway could only muster one second quarter point from captain Paul Conroy.

After the restart Galway, with Concannon clipping three points, posed questions of Donegal's resolve.

Donegal were able to find answers because every time Galway trimmed the deficit the Ulster outfit were able to respond.
That was chiefly because Murphy was a key figure both from play and frees also.

When substitute McBrearty arrived into the contest Donegal had another talented attacker which ensured Galway were pinned back once more.

McBrearty rifled over three sweet points for Donegal, who look especially keen to make a return to the top flight.

Donegal will be encouraged by the solid manner in which Laois and Galway have been outfoxed away from home in the opening two rounds of the campaign.

Galway: M Breathnach; D O'Neill, F Hanley, J Moore; S Denvir, J Duane, P Varley (0-01); P Conroy (0-03), T Flynn; G Sice (0-02), S Armstrong (0-01, f), G Bradshaw; M Martin (0-01), E Concannon (0-03), J Kavanagh. 

Subs: A Tierney for Hanley (13 mins), G O'Donnell for Denvir (33 mins), D O'Connell for Bradshaw (51 mins), D Cummins (0-01) for Martin (54 mins), D Comer for Sice (64 mins).

Donegal: P Durcan; K Lacey, N McGee, R McHugh (0-01); F McGlynn, L McLoone, A Thompson; R Kavanagh, M McElhinney; M McHugh, C Toye, O MacNiallais (0-01); C McFadden (1-04, 3fs), M Murphy (0-04, 2fs), D Molloy (0-02).

Subs: N Gallagher for Kavanagh (36 mins), P McBrearty (0-03) for Toye (43 mins), H McFadden for Molloy (49 mins), M Reilly for MacNiallais (65 mins), D Walsh (0-01) for Lacey (69 mins), L Keeney for McElhinney (70 mins). 

Referee: F Kelly (Longford).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use