It has been confirmed that All-Ireland Football champions Dublin will begin defence of their Leinster title in Croke Park on Sunday 8 June against the winners of the opening round match between Laois and Wicklow.

There were calls for the Leinster Council to play the game at a provincial venue.

However, it has been agreed that if the match ends in a draw, the replay will be staged in Portlaoise.

The game will form a double header with Kildare's opening game against either Westmeath or Louth.

Meanwhile, to accommodate a round-robin element, the Leinster Hurling Championship will begin on the 27 April.