No place for Rock as Dublin name unchanged team

Updated: Friday, 02 Aug 2013 09:43 | Comments

Dublin have kept faith with the team that started against Meath
Dublin have kept faith with the team that started against Meath

Dublin have named the same starting 15 that lined out against Meath in the Leinster final for their All-Ireland quarter-final clash with Cork on Saturday night.

Meath were comprehensively seen off by 2-15 to 0-14 in the end, but Dublin struggled at times in the Leinster decider.

A tougher-than-expected midfield battle and inaccurate shooting from the Dublin forwards were among the issues manager Jim Gavin had to consider after the match.

Despite making a good impact off the bench from early in the second half, Kevin McManamon and Denis Bastick are kept in reserve with Michael Dara Macauley and Cian O’Sullivan retained in midfield.

Eoghan O'Gara, Paul Mannion and Bernard Brogan are also retained with impact specialist McManamon and Dean Rock missing out. Diarmuid Connolly is named in the half-forward line.

Rock has shown well when given the chance this season and there were reports earlier this week that the Ballymun Kickhams man would take O'Gara's place in the starting line-up.

All-Ireland winning captain Bryan Cullen also misses out again with Ciarán Kilkenny named at centre-forward after an imposing display that saw him land three points in the Leinster final.

Cork have also named a team with no changes to the starting line-up despite being outplayed for long stretches during their qualifier victory over Galway.

The match is live on RTÉ Two on Saturday night as part of a double-header, with the clash of Monaghan and Tyrone up first.

Dublin XV to play Cork: S Cluxton, J Cooper, R O’Carroll, K O’Brien, J McCarthy, G Brennan, J McCaffrey, M D Macauley, C O’Sullivan, P Flynn, C Kilkenny, D Connolly, P Mannion, E O’Gara, B Brogan

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use