Leinster SFC Round One preview: Wicklow v Longford

Updated: Friday, 24 May 2013 14:49 | Comments

Neither Wicklow nor Longford got a win in the Allianz League
Neither Wicklow nor Longford got a win in the Allianz League


By Micil Glennon

Wicklow v Longford, Aughrim, Sunday, 3.30pm

Relegated Wicklow and Longford come face to face in Aughrim on Sunday, both looking for their first wins of 2013.

The Garden County failed to win a single game in the league and were relegated to Division 4 with only two points to their name after draws with Roscommon and Antrim.

Last season they bowed out of the Leinster Championship to Meath in the preliminary round, but recorded a qualifier win over Waterford before losing to Leitrim.

Aughrim had proven to be somewhat of a fortress in recent seasons, and manager Harry Murphy has pleaded with the home fans to show their support. 

He told the Wicklow People: "The crowds have been poor all year for the league so hopefully they turn out on Sunday because it'll be a lonely place if the crowd don't get behind us.

"It'd be a shame to see Longford there with more supporters than ourselves. So hopefully everyone gets down and gives the lads a bit of a shout."

Longford fared even worse, coming down from Division 2 with seven defeats from seven, the only team in the Allianz League not to claim any points.

That was very much in contrast to the previous season where they embellished their league promotion with brilliant wins over Laois in Leinster and Derry in the qualifiers.

Ahead of the game, manager Glenn Ryan told the Irish Examiner: “We know it will be tough going to Aughrim, but there has been a big effort since the league and we feel we are in with a good chance.”

Ryan names three Championship debutants in the side, under-21s Pádraig McCrormack and Robbie Smyth, along with Michael Brady. 

The midlanders will be without defender Peter Foy, who broke his ankle playing for his club side, Longford Slashers.

Verdict: Longford

Longford: Damien Sheridan, Dermot Brady, Barry Gilleran, Declan Reilly, Colm P Smyth, Michael Quinn, Shane Mulligan, John Keegan, Michael Brady, Bernard Mc Elvaney, Paul Barden (capt) Pádraig McCormack, Robbie Smyth, Francis McGee, Sean McCormack.

Wicklow: To follow...

Live television coverage of Kerry v Tipperary and Donegal v Tyrone from 13:30 on Sunday 26 May on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only). Live radio coverage of all the day’s action featuring Donegal v Tyrone from 14:00 on RTÉ Radio 1, RTÉ RnaG and RTÉ.ie (Worldwide).

Highlights and analysis of all the weekend’s action on The Sunday Game from 21:30 on Sunday 26 May on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only).

Previews, reviews and features of all the GAA Championship action on Championship Matters from 20:30 on Thursday 30 May on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use