New faces named in Kerry and Tipperary teams

Updated: Thursday, 23 May 2013 22:16 | Comments

Fionn Fitzgerald will make his Championship debut against Tipperary
Fionn Fitzgerald will make his Championship debut against Tipperary

Young defender Fionn Fitzgerald will make his first Championship start for Kerry when his side take on Tipperary in the Munster GAA Football Championship on Sunday.

The Dr Crokes clubman has been rewarded for some impressive displays in the league and is the only new face in a familiar looking Kingdom side.

Manager Éamonn Fitzmaurice has named a side which contain 12 members of the team that were beaten by Donegal in last season’s All-Ireland quarter-final – Kerry’s last Championship game.

Colm Cooper has been handed the captains armband in place of Eoin Brosnan who has to settle for a place on the bench as he continues to recover from injury.

Tipperary have gone one step further than Kerry and named two debutants in their side. Both John Coghlan and Ian Fahey come in for their first Championship starts at Fitzgerald Stadium.

Coghlan will slot in at corner-back while Clonmel Commercials clubman Fahey starts up front. 

Full-forward Barry Grogan returns to the Tipperary cause after missing last season's Championship having spent the year in the US.

Kerry: B Kealy; M Ó Sé, A O'Mahony, F Fitzgerald; T Ó Sé, K Young, P Crowley; A Maher, J Buckley; P Galvin, C Cooper, D Walsh; D O'Sullivan, K Donaghy, J O'Donoghue.

Tipperary: P Fitzgerald; J Coghlan, P Codd, C McDonald; R Kiely, D Leahy, A Campbell; G Hannigan, R Costigan; C Sweeney, I Fahey, P Acheson; A Maloney, B Grogan, P Austin.

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use