Leitrim gained a first competitive win over Mayo since 1994 with a 0-09 to 0-08 victory in Ballinamore that sets them up for a place in the final of the FBD Connacht League.

The winners started well and raced into 0-05 to 0-00 lead before Mayo raised a gallop that yielded successive points to have the sides level at the break.

The second half was a nip and tuck affair, but Leitrim held their nerve and with Emlyn Mulligan leading the way with 0-05 in total, they held out for a famous win.

Roscommon scored a comprehensive 1-20 to 1-04 win over GMIT in Strokestown.

Galway were too good for Sligo IT in Tuam, winning on a 0-16 to 1-05 scoreline. Danny Cummins top scored for Alan Mulholland’s side with 0-06, while Michael Martin chipped in with 0-04 as the maroon and white kept on track for a final berth.

Sligo made it two wins from two after overcoming NUIG 0-14 to 1-09 in Tourlestrane. Kevin Walsh’s side, however, had to withstand a second-half fight back from the students, who trailed by six at the break.

Cathal Freeman goaled early in the second half to leave only a point between the sides, but Sligo found the extra resolve to fashion a victory, with Niall Murphy (0-05) and Kenneth Sweeney (0-04) leading their charge.

Next Sunday’s meeting between Galway and Sligo will decide who reaches the final.