Round-up of Sunday's senior county football and hurling results

Updated: Monday, 15 Oct 2012 00:18 | Comments

Padraic Maher of Thurles Sarsfields celebrates his side's victory in the Tipperary senior hurling championship
Padraic Maher of Thurles Sarsfields celebrates his side's victory in the Tipperary senior hurling championship

Kilmacud Crokes were crowned Dublin senior hurling champions for the fifth time when they overcame the challenge of Cuala this afternoon.

Gearóid Ó'Riain's side ended a 27-year wait for the title with a comprehensive seven-point victory in Parnell Park.

Thurles Sarsfields, the most successful club side in Tipperary, resisted a late comeback from Drom & Inch to take the Tipp title for the 32nd time.

In Waterford, 2008 and 2010 champions De La Salle regained the title they relinquished to Ballygunner in 2011 by brushing aside the challenge of Dungarvan by 13 points, in Fraher Field.

Oulart-the-Ballagh won their fourth consecutive Wexford championship and tenth in all when they beat Faythe Harriers by five points, in Wexford Park.

In football, Salthill-Knocknacarra ran out five-point winners over Tuam Stars to gain the Galway title. The sides were locked on five points a-piece at half-time but Salthill edged ahead early in the second half and they extended the advantage to win comfortably.

There was no surprise in Armagh as All-Ireland club champions Crossmaglen Rangers overcame the challenge of Pearse Óg, winning their fourth consecutive county championship and remaining on course in their bid for a third successive All-Ireland title. 

Éire Óg won their first Carlow senior county championship since 2008 when running out ten-point winners over Palatine, while Ballybay were two-point winners over Clontibret in Monaghan.

Emmet Óg Killoe and Longford Slashers will have to do it all again after drawing in the Longford finale, but Rhode were clear-cut winners over Clara in the Offaly decider.

St Brigid's, Roscommon and Connacht champions for the last two years, retained their county title with victory over Padraig Pearses.

Senior Football County Final results:

Armagh: Crossmaglen Rangers 3-09 Pearse Óg 0-11

Carlow: Éire Óg 0-15 Palatine 0-05

Galway: Salthill-Knocknacarra 0-12 Tuam Stars 0-07

London: Tír Chonaill Gaels 1-15 Kingdom Kerry Gaels 1-08

Longford: Emmet Óg Killoe 0-07 Longford Slashers 0-07

Monaghan: Ballybay 1-12 Clontibret 2-05

Offaly: Rhode 0-16 Clara 1-06

Roscommon: St Brigid’s 2-08 Padraig Pearses 0-9

Senior Hurling County Final Results:

Dublin: Kilmacud Crokes 2-10 Cuala 0-09

Laois: Clough-Ballacolla 2-08 Rathdowney Errill 1-11

Sligo: Calry St Joseph's 2-16 Coolera Strandhill 1-11

Tipperary: Thurles Sarsfields 1-21 Drom & Inch 2-15

Waterford: De La Salle 1-21 Dungarvan 0-12

Westmeath: Clonkill 2-16 Raharney 2-11

Wexford: Oulart-the-Ballagh 2-12 Faythe Harriers 0-13

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use