Donegal and Tyrone to meet in Ulster quarter-final

Updated: Friday, 05 Oct 2012 11:02 | Comments

Donegal manager Jim McGuinness (l) and his Tyrone counterpart Mickey Harte will pit their wits against each other in Ulster
Donegal manager Jim McGuinness (l) and his Tyrone counterpart Mickey Harte will pit their wits against each other in Ulster


Donegal will open the defence of the Sam Maguire with a mouth-watering Ulster quarter-final clash with Tyrone.

Jim McGuinness’ men will be looking to land a historic third consecutive Anglo-Celt Cup, but they will have their work cut out against a Tyrone side which has shown signs of coming out of a transitional period.

Cavan and Armagh will meet in the preliminary round, with Peter Canavan’s Fermanagh awaiting the winners in the quarter-finals.
Elsewhere in the northern province, Derry will face Down and Antrim will take on Monaghan.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Mayo have been handed the most difficult path possible to a third Connacht title in a row.

The Westerners take on arch rivals Galway in the preliminary round, with a date with Roscommon the reward for the victors. The lop-sided draw offers Leitrim – who must travel to New York – and Sligo a great opportunity to reach a Connacht final.

Cork and Kerry look on course to meet in the Munster final after the two giants were kept on opposite sides of the draw down south.

Tipperary will be cursing their luck after they were pitted against the Kingdom, while Limerick must shock the Rebels if they are to secure a semi-final clash against Clare.

Meanwhile, Dublin await the winners of Westmeath and Carlow in the Leinster quarter-finals, with the Metropolitans facing the prospect of meeting Kildare in the last four should both sides come through their respective tests.

Meath, who are on the other side of the draw to the Dubs and Lilywhites, will fancy their chances of reaching the Leinster decider. They will begin their summer with a quarter-final against whoever comes out on top in the clash between Wicklow and Longford.

2013 Munster Championship

Cork v Limerick
Kerry v Tipperary

Clare v Cork/Limerick
Waterford v Kerry/Tipperary

2013 Connacht Championship

Preliminary Round:
New York v Leitrim
London v Sligo
Galway v Mayo

Galway/Mayo v Roscommon
New York/Leitrim v London/Sligo

2013 Ulster Championship

Preliminary Round:
Cavan v Armagh

Fermanagh v Cavan/Armagh
Donegal v Tyrone
Derry v Down
Antrim v Monaghan

2013 Leinster Championship

First Round:
Wicklow v Longford
Laois v Louth
Westmeath v Carlow

Wicklow/Longford v Meath
Laois/Louth v Wexford
Westmeath/Carlow v Dublin
Offaly v Kildare

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use