Mayo manager James Horan opts against tinkering with team ahead of Down clash

Updated: Saturday, 04 Aug 2012 16:11 | Comments

James Horan has kept the faith with his starting XV
James Horan has kept the faith with his starting XV

Mayo have named an unchanged team for Saturday’s All-Ireland football quarter-final clash with Down in Croke Park.

Manager James Horan has stuck with the same fifteen players that started Mayo’s Connacht final victory over Sligo three weeks ago.

Many had expected that Aidan O’Shea would be drafted into midfield after he recovered from a stomach muscle injury, but he misses out and must be content with a place on the bench.

Peadar Gardiner is also expected to be named on the bench after a foot problem that ruled him out of the provincial decider.

Pat Harte and Aidan Campbell are still out injured and will not feature at the weekend.

Mayo Senior Football team to face Down in the All-Ireland Football Quarter-Final in Croke Park on 4 August:

David Clarke; Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins; Lee Keegan, Donal Vaughan, Colm Boyle; Barry Moran, Danny Geraghty; Kevin McLoughlin, Cillian O'Connor, Alan Dillon; Enda Varley, Andy Moran, Jason Doherty.

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use